Coconut Macaroons German Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Another way to bake them so thatthey stay soft and fluffy is to set the oven to 350 F and only bake the cookies for 5-6 minutes until they are slightly golden. They will still be a little bit sticky but that's ok They will loose their stickiness when they cool down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
These are so good. I made them to use up 4 egg whites I had sitting in the fridge. Something went wrong, and they never really worked as a meringue, so I threw them out and started over with fresh ones. This recipe came together perfectly the second time. It was beautiful. I used unsweetened coconut, which was a wise choice. It would have been way too swee otherwise. I love the flavors of cinnamon and almond in here. The outside texture is a crisp meringue shell almost, and the inside is a chewy coconut macaroon. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I baked these @ 350 degrees until they were lightly browned on top and then let them cool all the way. I wanted them to be a bit chewy and it worked! I thought they were phenomenal. It is best if you make them as small as possible. A drizzle melted chocolate is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe is excellent as is. Baking it at 350 for less time until golden resulted in sticky cookies that really couldn't be eaten while keeping your fingers clean. I put them in for 12 more minutes on 250, and they turned out great. Macaroons are supposed to be crunchy, anyways. The almond extract adds an excellent flavor, and the cinnamon doesn't distract from the coconut taste at all. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
After starting on the meringue portion of the recipe, I realized I only had 3/4 cup of flaked coconut!! I thought it would be a disaster, but I went ahead and tried to subsititute the remaining measurement with finely chopped almonds. I also didn't have almond extract so I used vanilla. And I had to adjust the cooking temp and times, probably because of my mistakes. Oh yeah, I also didn't have parchment paper so I used foil :) BUT...I was so pleasantly surprised that they actually came out GOOD! So, all this is to say that you can really botch up these cookies and they will still turn out! Next time, I'll try to make the cookies as directed and see what they're supposed to taste like, but just know that if you don't have the exact ingredients or measurements, they'll probably still come out ok!! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I was first scared to be the first one tried this recipe, but let me tell you it is so good, I did not toast the coconut as the recipe says, and did not add the cinnamon, so good,thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I followed the directions exactly, and these cookies were terribly sticky. Even after cooling, they were just a sticky mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Made these since I had lots of leftover coconut from Coconut Cream Pie. I almost forgot about the toasted ones and was wondering why it wasn't a bit more.. thick. But that was my own fault. I'm working on a batch now, with one done and cooled. These are really, really good. Entire family likes them, even my brother who hates coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Hersey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made these for my husband and other coconut lovers . This recipe is very easy to follow. The comments I have received from everyone is that it's a very light and tasty macaroon. I strongly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This was pretty good!! Though it stuck to the wax paper, even though i oiled it. the cookies had a really nice coconut taste. i added some crushed walnuts and i think that made it taste even better. my grandma loved these, as she loves coconut. Ill make these again if i get ahold of cocnut, as they are yummy and healthy. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States