Coconut Macaroons German Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Holy cow these are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These cookies are awesome! They didn't take long and I wasn't sure that I had done them right as they were sort of sticky on the inside. I worried that they may not be done. I read some of the reviews though and it looks like it's just a personal choice. Mine came out with a crunchy outside and chewy inside - they are super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly put the cookies kept sticking to the parchment paper and egg white kept seeping out of the cookie dough. They created a sticky mess and even after cooking them for another 30 min, they would not bake through. NOt one of the better recipes I have tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Another favorite! I love the slightly crunchy outside and chewy of the coconut on the inside. Really good. I used sweetened coconut and cartoned egg whites. I did have to bake slightly longer to get "golden".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make! I wanted them softer so I baked them at 350 degrees until they started to brown. Am making for Christmas presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southlake, Texas, USA
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I do not typically like Macaroons, but I am giving this recipe 5 stars because these were the best Macaroons I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly with one exception. I reduced the amount of almond extract because I do not care for the flavor. My husband still loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beth Ellenbogen Schopf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very easy and good! I made half batch of these and half of the Chocolate Meringue Cookies - verdict was for the chocolate ones. So I melted some semi-sweet chips, dipped the bottom of the Coconut Macaroons and let them dry. Wonderful! Best of both worlds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe is excellent as is. Baking it at 350 for less time until golden resulted in sticky cookies that really couldn't be eaten while keeping your fingers clean. I put them in for 12 more minutes on 250, and they turned out great. Macaroons are supposed to be crunchy, anyways. The almond extract adds an excellent flavor, and the cinnamon doesn't distract from the coconut taste at all. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is a great cookie! I live in high altitude and it's raining outside and they still came out perfect. I let my mixer do all the work and they are light, crispy and chewy on the inside. Great flavor too! I'm bringing them to a german themed potluck and I think they will be a success. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
These are so good. I made them to use up 4 egg whites I had sitting in the fridge. Something went wrong, and they never really worked as a meringue, so I threw them out and started over with fresh ones. This recipe came together perfectly the second time. It was beautiful. I used unsweetened coconut, which was a wise choice. It would have been way too swee otherwise. I love the flavors of cinnamon and almond in here. The outside texture is a crisp meringue shell almost, and the inside is a chewy coconut macaroon. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States