Coconut Macaroons German Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
OMG I thought these sounded familiar so I decided to make them. Once they came out of the oven and I smelled one I knew exactly what it was. My Oma (grandmother in german) makes these every year for xmas!! I can't believe I made them and they were so easy! This is a recipe I will treasure forever as my Oma has. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These cookies are just delicious. The only problem I had was that I must have made the cookies too large because they didn't "dry" enough. Some were very gooey on the inside but we managed to consume them in spite of it! I will absolutely be making these again but with some changes... Instead of 1 teaspoon of cinnamon I'm cutting it back to 1/2 and instead of using 1 cup sugar I'm going to cut back to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Just made these today for husband to take to work tomorrow and already 1/2 are gone! These are AWESOME! I'll be making another batch tonight! Followed recipe to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMCANULTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I really like the flavor of this cookie. I did bake them at 350 like other suggested except it took longer in the oven for them to become golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have never eaten a macaroon, let along baked them, so I had no idea if they came out right. I thought they were a little on the sweet side, so next time i think I'll cut back on the amount of sugar. Shared them with friends and received rave reviews. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELT829

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These light, tasty cookies were a hit at my office Christmas party and at home. These will definitely become a standard on my Christmas cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These worked out fine. I cooked them until stiff and then let cool down. They are good, just not wow. I love meringue and love coconut, so I thought these would be amazing, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a simple, fool-proof meringue cookie. I piped these with a huge star and it worked well-- go fast though!! The fat in the coconut starts breaking down the egg whites rather quickly. If you're having problems, read any online tipsheet for meringues. They're really rewarding and fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used finely shredded unsweetened coconut and my macaroons came out dry at 20 min. The people that are saying that you need to cook these on a higher temp. to produce golden macaroons must not be toasting the coconut first because then they are golden when you start -- just keep that in mind if you do use the requested toasted coconut per the ingredient list. You probably want to do one or the other -- cook longer at high temp or toast beforehand, not both. I think I'll try this again using less coconut (since unsweetened is a bit drier) and since finer shredded coconut fills more space in the measuring cup. This had such good reviews, it's worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These cookies taste very good. All the flavours definately mesh well. Personally, they're a little sweet for my liking, but I'm sure that my boys will eat them up in no time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States