Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
As suggested, I tried this filling with another brownie recipe - so this rating is for the filling. I liked it on a spoon, but notsomuch in the brownies. I thought it would be creamy maybe? 'Didn't do it for me, but I'm glad I tried it. 'May just add whipped cream or whipped cream with some cream cheese to the filling for an amazing frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I wanted them to be moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Loved this! Used a ghirardelli mix with fudge frosting. Baked in 8x8 pan and used 4 oz coconut and half can sweetened condensed milk. Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I only used the coconut filling from this recipe, so I don't feel that I can give it 5 stars as I didn't use the whole recipe. I used the "fudge brownies 1" recipe for the brownie. I read the reviews that mentioned a cake like brownie and I don't like those at all. The brownie I used is fudgey, but that might be a problem too. The coconut filling was great but because it was so thick and heavy, I couldn't keep it separate from the bottom layer. After making a mess I decided to just mix it with the bottom layer and keep the top layer clean. It turned out great! I will definitely use this filling again but be more careful about bake times. It adds a lot of moisture but is totally worth it. It tastes just like a german chocolate cake really easy and far better than you get at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Saw this recipe and decided to use my boxed brownie mix that was in my cabinet! Added the coconut mixture in the middle, along with some chocolate chips, walnuts and caramel bits. Then added the top brownie layer. Delicious! Not changing the original recipe, just used it as a spring board. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I USED A BOX OF FUDGE BROWNIE AND MIXED IN SLICED ALMONDS. THEN SPREAD BUTTER ON A 13X9 PYREX PAN AND SPRINKLED A COAT OF FLOUR ON LIKE YOU WOULD FOR CAKE. I LAYERED THE BOTTOM OF THE DISH WITH HALF OF THE MIX. FOR THE FILLING I USED ONE BAG OF SWEETENED COCONUT, A CUP OF WHOLE MILK, AND 1TBLSP. VANILLA. IT CAME OUT LIKE IT HAD CHOCOLATE FROSTING IN THE CENTER. THEN I SPREAD A LIL POWDERED SUGAR ON THE TOP. THE BROWNIES WERE DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
didn't change a thing and it came out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mac Derringer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made this recipe over the weekend and we loved it! It came out a lot like the picture and it was so yummy! I added extra cocoa because others mentioned it wasn't very chocolatey! I also only had sweetened coconut on hand so that's what I used. Thanks so much, Valerie, for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAMENASHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Could I reduce the amount of sugar since I only have sweetened coconut?and still have them come out ok?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenda
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Way too dry and bland. I think could be very good with some changes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States