Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
These are good, but I like real fudgy brownies, these are more like a cake. I will use the filling more often though. I'll use my regular brownie recipe, or I'll put a spoonful in cupcakes. It's worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
After reading the other review, I decided to make the batter for my fudgiest brownies, because I prefer them to cakelike brownies. Wow! These were great! I'll definitely make these again! As a side note, try looking in the health food section of the supermarket for unsweetened coconut. You definitely DON'T want to use the sweetened coconut in the baking aisle - it would be far too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
These are excellent for Brownie Sundaes. A little hard to spread the batter though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Excellent! My roommates raved about these brownies, and they disappeared quickly at the social function I brought them to. I underbaked them just a little (to keep them gooey) and used just a little less cocoa, and they turned out wonderfully. Very rich - cut them into small bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
these were the best filled brownie that i have ever had. with these in the house it is very hard to leave them alone. had one then while deciding weather or not to have another one they were all gone. kids loved them thats probally why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
the brownie part was more cakey- i like it fudgy. and i wish there was more brownie in relation to the coconut part. i added chocolate frosting, but it still needed more chocolate- my coworkers agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
wonderful recipe... my children enjoyed them and always beg me to make them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These are really good, but if I made them again I would change some things. First of all, the coconut layer. It is really thick, I think there might be more coconut that brownie! It's a tiny bit dry too, I would maybe use 3 or 3.5 cups of coconut next time (and keep the milk the same). That would cut down on the thickness of that layer also. I checked these at 40 minutes and they were done. I think they might have been a bit over-done, so I would check at 35 next time. These cut very well and look fancy, I love how they turned out. It was really, really hard to spread the brownie batter (both times). I used Bob's Red Mill unsweetened coconut, and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I have been wanting to make these all year and I'm glad I finally had an excuse to make them! (Taking them to a function tomorrow). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This rating is for the filling, it is wonderful! After reading the other reviews I decided to use the filling with my favorite brownie recipe. I also used 1&1/2 brownie recipe to give a better brownie/filling ratio. I made 4 different types of brownies and these are by far the best. I used the Baker's One Bowl Brownies recipe from the Kraft web-site for my base. Thanks for sharing Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These were very rich but delicious! They were sent to work with my husband and his office ate them up in record time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States