Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The flavor of these brownies is excellent! I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because, like many, the brownie is more like cake and I like my brownies more dense. Also, they were a little dry so I think the baking time could be shortened up a bit to help with this. I like the idea that many have about using their favorite brownie recipe and using this filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
These were wonderful! I did cheat and use a box mix for the brownies, but the filling was amazing. I used regular sweetened flaked coconut, and the result was a very sweet, moist, macaroon filling. We all loved them, and will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These weren't quite what I was wanting but they were still very good. Used sweetened coconut and it was still okay, just cut down the amount of condensed milk. Very thick brownies, even in a 13 x 9 pan. Also added almond slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are rich - next time, and there will be a next time, I'll cut them into smaller servings. The coconut layer DID full me when checking doneness. The toothpick kept coming out moist because of the middle layer so I overbaked them a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalhart, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These were good. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did not include the nuts. I think they would be better if it was 3 cups of coconut, and add pecans and some caramel between the layers. I took them to a party, and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Great idea however mine came out way to dry. I think 45-50 mins is way to long. These brownies are not that thick. I think 30-35 mins would have been plenty. If it wasnt so dry these would have been to die for! I will make these again with shorter bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These are to die for! Of course, sugar is my friend! Everyone in my family (who likes coconut) loves them! Definitely do not overbake and keep well-covered, if they last more than a day! I even substituted 1 tsp. baking powder the first time because I didn't have the cream of tartar, and they were fine. I've made them 3 times in as many weeks for get-togethers. Definitely need coffee (or milk for the littles)! My favorite dessert recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aussiemum
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Good, not excellent. It's too sweet. One piece is enough for the whole day. 100% guilt when you eat it. I can actually feel gaining weight while eating it. yikes! I'll probably make it again but will reduce sugar by 1 cup. Maybe increase the cocoa powder to 3/4 cup. I can't taste the chocolate because the sweetness is overwhelming. The coconut macaroon filling is super sweet. Check in 30 minutes of baking, you don't want to overbake or it will come out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe. I followed the directions and they came out perfect. They are sweeeeet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These are pretty good, not quite what I envisioned, but not bad. I didn't bother trying to hunt down any unsweetened coconut and just used the regular sweetened kind. It's sweet, but it's dessert, right? I didn't make the brownie recipe listed but used a box mix instead, as a shortcut. I don't know if I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States