Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baton Rouge Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were AWESOME! I notice everyone else pointing out that we are supposed to use unsweetened coconut, but I used sweetened because it is what I had, and it was devine. I wouldn't change anything. The batter was very thick, so it was hard to spread, and I found that I had to spread it with 2 fingers with a little butter on them- the spatula just was clinging to the batter. I made them in a 9x9 bar pan and thought the thickness of the layers was absolutely perfect. These are just great and are definitely staying in my recipe box. We burned our mouths on them because we couldn't wait till they cooled to taste them, and they were worth it. They are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This rating is for the filling, it is wonderful! After reading the other reviews I decided to use the filling with my favorite brownie recipe. I also used 1&1/2 brownie recipe to give a better brownie/filling ratio. I made 4 different types of brownies and these are by far the best. I used the Baker's One Bowl Brownies recipe from the Kraft web-site for my base. Thanks for sharing Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
After reading the other review, I decided to make the batter for my fudgiest brownies, because I prefer them to cakelike brownies. Wow! These were great! I'll definitely make these again! As a side note, try looking in the health food section of the supermarket for unsweetened coconut. You definitely DON'T want to use the sweetened coconut in the baking aisle - it would be far too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
These taste best after being refrigerated over night. If I made these again, I would put only three eggs in it instead of four to make it less cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These are really good, but if I made them again I would change some things. First of all, the coconut layer. It is really thick, I think there might be more coconut that brownie! It's a tiny bit dry too, I would maybe use 3 or 3.5 cups of coconut next time (and keep the milk the same). That would cut down on the thickness of that layer also. I checked these at 40 minutes and they were done. I think they might have been a bit over-done, so I would check at 35 next time. These cut very well and look fancy, I love how they turned out. It was really, really hard to spread the brownie batter (both times). I used Bob's Red Mill unsweetened coconut, and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I have been wanting to make these all year and I'm glad I finally had an excuse to make them! (Taking them to a function tomorrow). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
These are good, but I like real fudgy brownies, these are more like a cake. I will use the filling more often though. I'll use my regular brownie recipe, or I'll put a spoonful in cupcakes. It's worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
the brownie part was more cakey- i like it fudgy. and i wish there was more brownie in relation to the coconut part. i added chocolate frosting, but it still needed more chocolate- my coworkers agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I messed these up but everyone was still eating them!! First, I used SWEETENED coconut..but it wasn't that bad with it. Second, I only used about 3 1/4C of coconut; making the middle ubstable. The bar would not hold it's shape from there, either. When the top started cracking, I took it out. It was not done!! I then cooked it full time and then some..It was still great though!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
these were the best filled brownie that i have ever had. with these in the house it is very hard to leave them alone. had one then while deciding weather or not to have another one they were all gone. kids loved them thats probally why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I'm only rating the coconut mixture and the idea of sandwiching it between brownies. I used a box mix to save on time, but otherwise followed the instructions...Wonderful! Even the folks who said they typically didn't like coconut LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States