Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
HUGE disappointment- made for my valentine after reading several great reviews. Flavor was generic/boring, coconut layer pulled apart from chocolate. And was a big hassle to make spreading dough. Probably worst recipe I've done from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
so so so good! i made this recipe with 1.5 times the brownie, so as to have a good coconut-brownie proportion, as some reviews stated there wasnt enough brownie. The cake was thick and rich, the coconut tasted FAB, the brownie, yes it was cakey, but SOO good! i also preffer fudgy brownie but i suppose with this coconut in it, it might have all been too....fudgy? AMAZING, with defoo make it again! however, i baked in a 9x13inch, and the middle wasnt properly done, not that it matters, it added a creamy touch to the cake and was amazing. the top was perhaps too hard, i tried to bake it long enough to have the middle as baked as possible and burnt the top a lil! oh well... EVERYONE went crazy about this, even those which dont like coconut so much! definately a keeper!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made these brownies and I did not have unsweeted coconut so I used sweetened. I also ended up melting the butter completely which I believe helped make the batter more spreadable which some reviewers have complained about. We served the brownies with a mixture of blueberries and strawberries over the top with cool whip. I will definately make them again because they were relatively easy to make and very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Relatively easy to prepare and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Trapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perryton, Texas, USA
Living In: Orange City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These are incredibly rich but sooo good! When I make these, I line the 9x13 pan with aluminum foil and grease the foil, so that I can take the sticky brownies out easily and peel down the foil, then cut them up. It's so much easier than cutting them out of the pan because the macaroon layer gets very sticky. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Winamac, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Excellent! I confess I used boxed browines and only used the filling which was wonderful. When I have more time I will make the browines from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I've made these brownies twice now. I think they are to die for! The only reason I didn't give the recipe a 5 was because it is a little difficult to make. The brownie mixture is SOOOOO thick that it is almost imposible to work with. I had to add some milk to it just to be able to get the top layer spread out. Other than that, this recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
major winner. every one loves these. I usually frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The rating is for the filling; as others suggested I used a different recipe for the brownies (Fudge Brownies I from this site). The coconut macaroon filling is a nice way to "dress up" regular brownies. I used a 9X9 pan because I like thick brownies and baked for approximately 60 minutes. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were AWESOME! I notice everyone else pointing out that we are supposed to use unsweetened coconut, but I used sweetened because it is what I had, and it was devine. I wouldn't change anything. The batter was very thick, so it was hard to spread, and I found that I had to spread it with 2 fingers with a little butter on them- the spatula just was clinging to the batter. I made them in a 9x9 bar pan and thought the thickness of the layers was absolutely perfect. These are just great and are definitely staying in my recipe box. We burned our mouths on them because we couldn't wait till they cooled to taste them, and they were worth it. They are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States