Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I've made these brownies twice now. I think they are to die for! The only reason I didn't give the recipe a 5 was because it is a little difficult to make. The brownie mixture is SOOOOO thick that it is almost imposible to work with. I had to add some milk to it just to be able to get the top layer spread out. Other than that, this recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
major winner. every one loves these. I usually frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The rating is for the filling; as others suggested I used a different recipe for the brownies (Fudge Brownies I from this site). The coconut macaroon filling is a nice way to "dress up" regular brownies. I used a 9X9 pan because I like thick brownies and baked for approximately 60 minutes. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were AWESOME! I notice everyone else pointing out that we are supposed to use unsweetened coconut, but I used sweetened because it is what I had, and it was devine. I wouldn't change anything. The batter was very thick, so it was hard to spread, and I found that I had to spread it with 2 fingers with a little butter on them- the spatula just was clinging to the batter. I made them in a 9x9 bar pan and thought the thickness of the layers was absolutely perfect. These are just great and are definitely staying in my recipe box. We burned our mouths on them because we couldn't wait till they cooled to taste them, and they were worth it. They are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These are the BEST brownies I have ever tasted! They're like gooey almond joy bars. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
These taste best after being refrigerated over night. If I made these again, I would put only three eggs in it instead of four to make it less cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I messed these up but everyone was still eating them!! First, I used SWEETENED coconut..but it wasn't that bad with it. Second, I only used about 3 1/4C of coconut; making the middle ubstable. The bar would not hold it's shape from there, either. When the top started cracking, I took it out. It was not done!! I then cooked it full time and then some..It was still great though!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These were very rich but delicious! They were sent to work with my husband and his office ate them up in record time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This rating is for the filling, it is wonderful! After reading the other reviews I decided to use the filling with my favorite brownie recipe. I also used 1&1/2 brownie recipe to give a better brownie/filling ratio. I made 4 different types of brownies and these are by far the best. I used the Baker's One Bowl Brownies recipe from the Kraft web-site for my base. Thanks for sharing Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These are really good, but if I made them again I would change some things. First of all, the coconut layer. It is really thick, I think there might be more coconut that brownie! It's a tiny bit dry too, I would maybe use 3 or 3.5 cups of coconut next time (and keep the milk the same). That would cut down on the thickness of that layer also. I checked these at 40 minutes and they were done. I think they might have been a bit over-done, so I would check at 35 next time. These cut very well and look fancy, I love how they turned out. It was really, really hard to spread the brownie batter (both times). I used Bob's Red Mill unsweetened coconut, and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I have been wanting to make these all year and I'm glad I finally had an excuse to make them! (Taking them to a function tomorrow). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States