Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Great idea however mine came out way to dry. I think 45-50 mins is way to long. These brownies are not that thick. I think 30-35 mins would have been plenty. If it wasnt so dry these would have been to die for! I will make these again with shorter bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These are to die for! Of course, sugar is my friend! Everyone in my family (who likes coconut) loves them! Definitely do not overbake and keep well-covered, if they last more than a day! I even substituted 1 tsp. baking powder the first time because I didn't have the cream of tartar, and they were fine. I've made them 3 times in as many weeks for get-togethers. Definitely need coffee (or milk for the littles)! My favorite dessert recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aussiemum
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Good, not excellent. It's too sweet. One piece is enough for the whole day. 100% guilt when you eat it. I can actually feel gaining weight while eating it. yikes! I'll probably make it again but will reduce sugar by 1 cup. Maybe increase the cocoa powder to 3/4 cup. I can't taste the chocolate because the sweetness is overwhelming. The coconut macaroon filling is super sweet. Check in 30 minutes of baking, you don't want to overbake or it will come out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe. I followed the directions and they came out perfect. They are sweeeeet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These are pretty good, not quite what I envisioned, but not bad. I didn't bother trying to hunt down any unsweetened coconut and just used the regular sweetened kind. It's sweet, but it's dessert, right? I didn't make the brownie recipe listed but used a box mix instead, as a shortcut. I don't know if I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
HUGE disappointment- made for my valentine after reading several great reviews. Flavor was generic/boring, coconut layer pulled apart from chocolate. And was a big hassle to make spreading dough. Probably worst recipe I've done from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
so so so good! i made this recipe with 1.5 times the brownie, so as to have a good coconut-brownie proportion, as some reviews stated there wasnt enough brownie. The cake was thick and rich, the coconut tasted FAB, the brownie, yes it was cakey, but SOO good! i also preffer fudgy brownie but i suppose with this coconut in it, it might have all been too....fudgy? AMAZING, with defoo make it again! however, i baked in a 9x13inch, and the middle wasnt properly done, not that it matters, it added a creamy touch to the cake and was amazing. the top was perhaps too hard, i tried to bake it long enough to have the middle as baked as possible and burnt the top a lil! oh well... EVERYONE went crazy about this, even those which dont like coconut so much! definately a keeper!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made these brownies and I did not have unsweeted coconut so I used sweetened. I also ended up melting the butter completely which I believe helped make the batter more spreadable which some reviewers have complained about. We served the brownies with a mixture of blueberries and strawberries over the top with cool whip. I will definately make them again because they were relatively easy to make and very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Relatively easy to prepare and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Trapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perryton, Texas, USA
Living In: Orange City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These are incredibly rich but sooo good! When I make these, I line the 9x13 pan with aluminum foil and grease the foil, so that I can take the sticky brownies out easily and peel down the foil, then cut them up. It's so much easier than cutting them out of the pan because the macaroon layer gets very sticky. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Winamac, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States