Coconut Macaroon Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Believe it or not, I'm allergic to coconut but had a HUGE bag given to me for some odd reason, so I decided to find a recipe to use it - THIS ONE! I brought them to work and they were all gone, no crumbs even with in 25 minutes! One coworker said "This is the best sweet thing I've literally ever had." Job well done for not being able to taste my treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Schultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
when i first made these i used a box mix just because we had one and i needed to use it. I was kinda worried that their was too much milk in the coconut mix. it seemed like it wouldn't bake at all. but i checked on it every few min and realized that it was fine. but i would suggest not using AS much evaporated milk in it. maybe about half a can or a tiny bit more. but they are realy good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These are really mild! They are more like a scone bar then a brownie. Still good, serve with coffee and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Yum! These were good. I used sweetened coconut, as I could not find unsweetened, and omitted the walnuts because we don't like them. Like some others have said, I would have preferred more fudgy brownies, but these were tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
What a great recipe! I did go with the suggestion of only using 3 cups coconut & 3 eggs. Turned out perfect! Be careful not to overbake though because they tend to dry out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tower City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
added 8oz package of cream cheese and 1 egg to coconut filling. These are amazing like that!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
WHile the filling for this brownie is brilliant, the brownie itself left much to be desired. After reading the reviews I decided to shorten the time in the oven and they are still a little dry. Next time I use the filling I will try a different brownie recipe....also I would consider only dabbing on the top layer so you get a marbled look. I think the coconut filling would be BRILLIANT if toasted slightly....and letting bits peek out under the top layer is how I would accomplish that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I doubled the amount of coconut and forgot the second dash of vanilla extract and I chose NOT to add the nuts (hubby doesn't like them) and I added mini chocolate chips to the coconut mix and they came out FABULOUS!!! Absolutely lovely! We will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
First, let me say, this is the first brownie I have ever made that didn't come out of a box. I am the worst baker EVER! With that being said, I felt like giving it another try, and decided to try my hand at this recipe. I'm not sure what anyone else is referring to when they say the brownie part wasn't good, or was dry. These were AWESOME. Moist, delicious, tasty!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. The compliments I got from making these made me VERY happy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wonderful! I used the filling with another brownie recipe, but I think next time I'll try the original brownie recipe instead. We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States