Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am also a seasoned baker and found this recipe to be super easy and quick ...I did make a few additions like I added about 1/2 cup more flour,1 teaspoon vanilla and a small can of coconut milk instead of milk...also added about 3/4 teaspoon baking powder and a pinch of salt...I used about 3/4 cup water as well....it rose higher and wasn't squishy and was perfectly dry on the bottom and done..not like others results...it is moist and scrumptious!.awesome loaf..family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Sidney, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
i really enjoyed this bread it was really good and is a good seller at the local farmers market i have made mods to this recipe i add more flour and 1 tsp of vanilla extract and even add cocoa powder to it and a third cup more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Tried this when I was looking for something with coconut and loved it! Have made it often and never had any problems. I did not use self rising flour( I don'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlock, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I was very skeptical about this 4 ingredient recipe. It turned out lovely. It isn't too sweet and mine came out very dense. It is really good with jam. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Bread was delicious. Did not have self-rising flour. Made my own by adding 1 1/2 teasp. backing powder & 1/2 teasp. salt. Then increased temp. to 360 degrees, used 9x5 metal, greased pan. Baked for 50 minutes and probably could have baked another 3 minutes or so. Bread a little gooey at bottom. Bread did not rise very high. I did not expect it to from other reviews. My husband said this recipe is a keeper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I've had a recipe similar to this one for a long time, the only difference being that the recipe I have uses a teaspoon of vanilla in the batter as well. Its incredibly handy when you need to make something for a take-a-plate and you arent sure if there will be vegetarians there. This recipe has many fans, I get regular requests for it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS TEMPEST
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I was worried that this recipe would not turn out as the batter was really runny but it firmed up and came out well. My kids really enjoyed eating this loaf and it was extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe is so unique and easy that I had to try it. My mom LOVES coconut so I made it for her. I had to bake my for quite a bit longer than the recipe calls for (after a while I gave up keeping track) and it still was a little underbaked. It is very dense and very moist with a good flavor. My mom loved it and said that it tasted like macaroons so she was happy. I'm going to make it again and bake it for even longer and I think I will be happier with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I didn't have self-rising flour, so I followed another reviewers lead and added 2.5 tsp baking powder. I added 1/3 cup more flour and decreased milk a little. I used a combination of raw coconut powder and flaked unsweetened and added 1tsp vanilla. Baked at 360 for 55 minutes. Came out dense and moist, not too sweet. We love it. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I found this recipe while searching for a recipe that included the only ingredients I had in my cupboard at the time. The idea of it was great! However, the recipe didn't turn out well for me at all. It turned out gooey and sticky, almost pudding-like. My husband really liked it though! I ended up picking at it, and the taste was good, I just couldn't get past the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States