Coconut Lime Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
We had Coconut rice for the first time in San Francisco a couple of weeks ago. I searched for a recipe and came across this one. WOW!!! This was a big hit and came very close to what we had in San Fran other than I do not recall tasting the texture of the actual Coconut. That is one thing I would change next time around (I would chop the shredded Coconut very fine)... I also used Cocnut Cream in place of the Coconut milk which gave even a stronger Coconut taste (YUM)... We doubled the recipe and did serve with Cilantro... PERFECT DISH!!!! This one is going in the book. THANK YOU Karmabelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MistiB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I am surprised others didn't like it as well as we did. I have tried other recipes and this was by far our favorite! Very creamy and coconutty! I did not have the coconut oil so just used butter, and added some chopped cilantro to the finished product. Delicious with thai green curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is good, but when using coconut milk and flake, adding chicken broth will not give the flavor of coconut. So it is best without broth. Adding Cilantro will give a lovely aroma. We used this as main dish with spicy chicken curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
MMmmm so yummy! The coconut oil mixes with the butter to lightly brown rice/coconut before adding the liquids. Since I didn't have the coconut oil I looked in my pantry for another sweet oil; I had peanut and sesame so I went with sesame... This was very good and I can only imagine how good it would be with coconut oil... The lime and coconut made this rice one of the best rice sides I have tried! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I usually practice a recipe at least once before serving it to guests, but I took a chance and prepared this for a group of friends today, and served it with satay; everyone agreed that it was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly (no substitutions), and it was perfect. We will definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This rice was wonderful! I just made it for dinner and everyone loved it. I had to use long grain rice because we didn't have basmati. Other than that, I followed the recipe. (I did use a little extra coconut oil (virgin) for it's health benefits). I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I loved this! I used brown basmati rice and it turned out great! I loved the thickness and stickiness the coconut milk provided to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Tasty, yet it needed something, so I added minced fresh cilantro, which we love in Thai, Indian and other Asian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
We loved this! Tangy and sticky, my daughter actually chose to have a second serving of this as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I did not like the flavor of the coconut milk combined with the saltiness of the chicken stock. Not our taste. I probably would have preferred the sweetened version that can be found on this website - it adds a little bit of sugar and uses water instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States