Coconut Lime Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a pleasant combination of favors, but unnecessarily loaded with fat...which is why I'm only giving it three stars. I think the coconut milk is unnecessary, & better results would be obtained by adding water & coconut extract in place of the coconut milk. The recipe as written leaves a coating of oil in your mouth & turns rock-hard in the fridge. Rice is a food which lends itself well to lower-fat, healthier options, so why load it up unnecessarily with fat? That having been said, the flavor combination in this rice is good, so it is worth trying without the coconut milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Excellent! I used Lite coconut milk, not sure it makes much difference, just saved a few calories.Served it with Hawaiian pineapple and chicken kabobs! Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Delicious. My father does not like rice and loved it. Definitely make again. Loved the flavour and the consistence of the rice was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
needs more coconut flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I thought this was delightful. I stirred in chopped mangoes as suggested, and this made it an even bigger hit with my 7-year-old. Great with thai-sauced salmon. I was glad I had coconut oil on hand... I have made other coconut-lime rice recipes, and I think the oil really made the flavors come out. I left out the flaked coconut (all I had was sweetened) and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this as written and served it with some baked salmon fillets. I thought that all of the flavors together were delicious and would definitely recommend this recipe. I like a lot of lime so next time I would probably add a bit more lime juice and zest, but that is personal preference. Overall great recipe! Turned out better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Well, I kind of hoped for more from this, but I made a lot of changes so am still giving it four stars. The biggest change I made was omitting the flaked, sweetened coconut. I strongly suspect that this recipe is all about the flaked, sweetened coconut, but I didn't have any, and was trying to lighten the recipe up a bit. I tried to make up for it with 1/2 tsp of coconut extract, but I think the missing sweetness was the problem. The end result was totally good, but not worth the calories of the coconut oil and coconut milk. Sometime when I'm not thinking quite so much about calories, I'll try it again as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was very tasty - but sweet. I took another reviewer's suggestion and used coconut cream in place of the coconut milk and butter in place of the oil. I really loved the flavor, but it was more of a dessert than a side dish (as I had used it). I'll definitely make this recipe again, but I'll have it with fruit for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I made this almost exactly as it is written. I use extra virgin coconut oil (it's VERY good for you). I didn't have chicken broth so I used 1 1/2 cups coconut milk and 1/2 cup water. I didn't use the lime zest, only the juice. This was so delicious and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRIDAGIRL_36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This is an easy summer rice dish that was a hit with my family... Definitely making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States