Coconut-Lime Cheesecake with Mango Coulis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
i made it exactly like the recipe . i only diet keep the sauce to the side instead i put it on the top as a layer and it was good and was perfect flavor .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My family and peers enjoyed it but i felt that it was lacking in flavor. The only thing that helped the bland flavor was the mango sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is CRAZY delicious. I had a 10" spring form pan and I increased all ingredients by half. Perfection. Personally, I didn't think the mango coulis added anything, but my guests liked it. The next day I added the juice of half a lime and a teaspoon of sugar to the coulis and then I thought it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I was looking for a unique dessert to serve at a casual summer dinner party. Was thinking a nice cool Key Lime Pie, and found this recipe. I was skeptical because of the sweetened condensed milk the recipe called for, but decided to try it anyway. The gingersnap crust was intriguing, as I've made that often with pumpkin-based desserts. This was just downright disappointing. A more appropriate name for this would be "cheesy condensed milk cream pie". I understand that it is NOT a NY style cheesecake, and I wasn't expecting it to be, but the batter was goopy going into the crust and while it did puff up during baking it fell into a soggy, wet mess once the "cake" was removed from the cooled oven. Refrigerating did nothing to save it. The flavor profile sounded wonderful (lime/coconut/ginger, + a little sweet mango to balance out the acid) but the lime flavor was mediocre and the coconut (extract, yuck!) lost completely. The best part was the mango puree, and only because we happened to have a whole box of fresh, ripe mangoes and I did add a bit of rum to it, which was delicious. I still like the idea of this, but next time will use my "regular" cheesecake recipe with these flavors. Also, as another commentor suggested, use unsweetened coconut in the crust, and use a food processor to crush the cookies and coconut flakes together. Cut down on the melted butter (maybe 2 T) - otherwise you'll have a chewy crust that doesn't hold up to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I actually couldn't find ginger snaps so I substituted graham crumbs as in some of the reviews. This was a really nice cheese cake, albiet super rich. Needs the mango. Dee-lish. Thanks CC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was my first cheese cake that I have ever made. I followed every direction to the letter. I feel like the consistency of the cheese cake was great but the flavor was lacking. It definitely needs sugar or something...the "sweetened condensed milk" was not enough. I was so excited to serve this for Easter dinner and it was just a big flop :( If I do make it again I will experiment with sugar to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe was incredible! I took it to a dietitian's potluck and received many compliments (yes we eat cheesecake too!) I substituted graham crumbs with 1 tsp ginger and the crust was great. The cheesecake isn't very high, but good for keeping portions moderate. I may or may not do the mango coulis next time, I liked it but the cheesecake is great on its own. I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to top with toasted coconut and slices of lime on each piece. It looked as good as it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was very good, but time consuming. I wasn't crazy about the Coulis, but my daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe, but I did change the ingredients where I could not find the items in the recipe. There are no gingersnaps that I can find in Qatar, so I used a brand of scottish shortbread cookies for the crust, with coconut and 2 teaspoons of sugar. The crust came out just fine. I could not find any coconut extract, but I did find coconut milk. I used heavy cream with the cream cheese to lighten it up a little. Real limes and zest. I wanted a smoother texture to the mangos, and added slightly more sugar. I used two ripe yellow mangos. The recipe tastes pretty good. If I had to improve it, I would double the cream cheese. I would use slightly more coconut milk. The lime was ok, but not enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Can't taste the difference between the coconut and lime cheesecake but love the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States