Coconut-Lime Cheesecake with Mango Coulis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe - a new favourite. Texture was spot on and it didn't crack when I followed the directions laid out in the recipe. The coconut and ginger snap crust was a big hit, as well. Will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Fantastic! I love the mix of each flavor. The mango puree can really be any other thick in texture fruit, if you are not into the blunt mango taste. The mango can be mixed with lemon or orange for a fresher, more sharp taste. I changed the gingersnap cookies with "Nilla" cookies, and that worked great for us! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
i made it exactly like the recipe . i only diet keep the sauce to the side instead i put it on the top as a layer and it was good and was perfect flavor .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My family and peers enjoyed it but i felt that it was lacking in flavor. The only thing that helped the bland flavor was the mango sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is CRAZY delicious. I had a 10" spring form pan and I increased all ingredients by half. Perfection. Personally, I didn't think the mango coulis added anything, but my guests liked it. The next day I added the juice of half a lime and a teaspoon of sugar to the coulis and then I thought it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I was looking for a unique dessert to serve at a casual summer dinner party. Was thinking a nice cool Key Lime Pie, and found this recipe. I was skeptical because of the sweetened condensed milk the recipe called for, but decided to try it anyway. The gingersnap crust was intriguing, as I've made that often with pumpkin-based desserts. This was just downright disappointing. A more appropriate name for this would be "cheesy condensed milk cream pie". I understand that it is NOT a NY style cheesecake, and I wasn't expecting it to be, but the batter was goopy going into the crust and while it did puff up during baking it fell into a soggy, wet mess once the "cake" was removed from the cooled oven. Refrigerating did nothing to save it. The flavor profile sounded wonderful (lime/coconut/ginger, + a little sweet mango to balance out the acid) but the lime flavor was mediocre and the coconut (extract, yuck!) lost completely. The best part was the mango puree, and only because we happened to have a whole box of fresh, ripe mangoes and I did add a bit of rum to it, which was delicious. I still like the idea of this, but next time will use my "regular" cheesecake recipe with these flavors. Also, as another commentor suggested, use unsweetened coconut in the crust, and use a food processor to crush the cookies and coconut flakes together. Cut down on the melted butter (maybe 2 T) - otherwise you'll have a chewy crust that doesn't hold up to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I actually couldn't find ginger snaps so I substituted graham crumbs as in some of the reviews. This was a really nice cheese cake, albiet super rich. Needs the mango. Dee-lish. Thanks CC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was my first cheese cake that I have ever made. I followed every direction to the letter. I feel like the consistency of the cheese cake was great but the flavor was lacking. It definitely needs sugar or something...the "sweetened condensed milk" was not enough. I was so excited to serve this for Easter dinner and it was just a big flop :( If I do make it again I will experiment with sugar to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe was incredible! I took it to a dietitian's potluck and received many compliments (yes we eat cheesecake too!) I substituted graham crumbs with 1 tsp ginger and the crust was great. The cheesecake isn't very high, but good for keeping portions moderate. I may or may not do the mango coulis next time, I liked it but the cheesecake is great on its own. I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to top with toasted coconut and slices of lime on each piece. It looked as good as it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was very good, but time consuming. I wasn't crazy about the Coulis, but my daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States