Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
i added chicken and that was yummy, you can fiddle with this to your taste with out much danger...freezes great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
So good and SO EASY! We had it twice this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe. Only change I mad was to add 2 celery stalks and 1 cup of diced tomatoes for extra substance. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I tried this recipe and thought it was fantastic! I cooked a double recipe and the whole thing disapeared! I substituted 2/3 of the soy milk to coconut milk as someone had suggested and it really added alot of flavour. Make sure to cook it long enough to soften it until it looks more like pulp then lentils. Some people described it as bland, but all it needs that the recipe doesn't call for is alot more salt! Try this and it will be much tastier! I will add this to my permanent repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! This was incredible! However, as is always the case with me, I did make modifications. I only had 1 1/4 cups red lentils and I ended up using 1/4 cup regular lentils (as you can see in the picture I am submitting, the color of the soup was not uniform, but that was unimportant). I did add salt to the water when cooking the lentils and ended up adding probably close to 1 more cup of water. I used the suggested coconut milk and used Jamaican Curry Powder along with (as suggested) red pepper flakes, cumin, and cinnamon. I then prepared some Jasmine rice and steamed some broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots as that is what I had in the freezer. I spooned some veggies and some rice in a bowl and ladled the soup over top. This makes a lot of soup and I thought for sure we would have substantial leftovers, but my son ate 4 huge servings and he is only 12 years old! It was delicious and I could easily make it again and have it tonight. Be warned, however, that meat eaters may not find it substantial enough to their liking. I am a vegetarian and my husband is not and although he ate it, I do not think he will request it again any time soon. That's ok because there will be more for my son and I! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
YUM YUM! I made this, but used a total of 4c of water, and instead of the soy milk, I used a can of light coconut milk, and garnished with coconut....wow I thought I died and went to heaven. This will make a regular appearance in my lunchbox!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Very yummy... I also used 1/2 can of coconut milk instead of soymilk, added a pinch of garam masala and will toss in some cooked rice next time for a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is awesome. It definitely hit the spot while I was craving a warm hearty soup on this cold rainy and windy day. It's perfect on a Sunday night watching football and cozying up to this soup. I wish I had made basmati rice with it but instead I poured myself a glass of white wine and heated a crusted artisan roll with butter..mmmmm. it doesn't get better than this. Oh by the way, I did add salt and used coconut milk instead, also what really added flavor was a teaspoon of Garam Masala and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought this recipe was fabulous - though I did replace the soy milk with coconut milk as others have advised. I also added peas, sliced carrots, cumin, and a bouillon cube to the soup for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States