Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! This was incredible! However, as is always the case with me, I did make modifications. I only had 1 1/4 cups red lentils and I ended up using 1/4 cup regular lentils (as you can see in the picture I am submitting, the color of the soup was not uniform, but that was unimportant). I did add salt to the water when cooking the lentils and ended up adding probably close to 1 more cup of water. I used the suggested coconut milk and used Jamaican Curry Powder along with (as suggested) red pepper flakes, cumin, and cinnamon. I then prepared some Jasmine rice and steamed some broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots as that is what I had in the freezer. I spooned some veggies and some rice in a bowl and ladled the soup over top. This makes a lot of soup and I thought for sure we would have substantial leftovers, but my son ate 4 huge servings and he is only 12 years old! It was delicious and I could easily make it again and have it tonight. Be warned, however, that meat eaters may not find it substantial enough to their liking. I am a vegetarian and my husband is not and although he ate it, I do not think he will request it again any time soon. That's ok because there will be more for my son and I! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
YUM YUM! I made this, but used a total of 4c of water, and instead of the soy milk, I used a can of light coconut milk, and garnished with coconut....wow I thought I died and went to heaven. This will make a regular appearance in my lunchbox!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Easy to make, very good taste. I used cow's milk and added veg bullion to the cooking water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I also tweaked this recipe quite a bit. I sauteed the onion and garlic and some chili pepper with the spices prior to adding the lentils and water. I also used coconut milk instead of the soy. Also - added a large can of diced tomatoes to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious and EASY! After the changes I made, I would give it 5 stars for sure! I added quite a bit more ginger and curry powder, used coconut milk instead of soy (and more of it), added cumin and cinnamon, more salt, and cooked it with cashews. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
i added chicken and that was yummy, you can fiddle with this to your taste with out much danger...freezes great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
3.5 stars. Very easy to make, actually tastes better after a few days when the flavours have had the opportunity to settle. I used coconut milk instead of the soy, and added shredded coconut and green peas. It was kind of lacking flavour, so I added red pepper flakes, cumin, and a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I tried this recipe and thought it was fantastic! I cooked a double recipe and the whole thing disapeared! I substituted 2/3 of the soy milk to coconut milk as someone had suggested and it really added alot of flavour. Make sure to cook it long enough to soften it until it looks more like pulp then lentils. Some people described it as bland, but all it needs that the recipe doesn't call for is alot more salt! Try this and it will be much tastier! I will add this to my permanent repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I really liked the flavour of this. Making as per recipe the lentils are not as "soupy" as I would like so I added about a cup of veggie chiken stock to thin out the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is awesome. It definitely hit the spot while I was craving a warm hearty soup on this cold rainy and windy day. It's perfect on a Sunday night watching football and cozying up to this soup. I wish I had made basmati rice with it but instead I poured myself a glass of white wine and heated a crusted artisan roll with butter..mmmmm. it doesn't get better than this. Oh by the way, I did add salt and used coconut milk instead, also what really added flavor was a teaspoon of Garam Masala and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States