Coconut Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Easy to make, very good taste. I used cow's milk and added veg bullion to the cooking water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
A bit bland looking. I jazzed it up a bit with chopped red peppers. The quantity of water in the receipe is low...I used closed to 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I liked the recipe, but next time i will use coconut milk instead of real coconut and soy milk. the coconut taste wasn't very prominent. I also used about 4 cups of water with the lentils. All inall, it was a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I thought this recipe was fairly good. It was yummy, but it didn't wow me. I used light coconut milk in place of the fresh coconut and milk, so I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt and may try it again as originally indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I added a couple of teaspoons of chicken base and, eventually, some garlic salt. It was pretty bland otherwise. I also used dried, unsweetened coconut which I soaked in the soy milk to soften before I pureed. I'll try the coconut milk next time and increase the garlic. I did, however, like the taste combinations. Will serve with plain yogurt, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I really liked the flavour of this. Making as per recipe the lentils are not as "soupy" as I would like so I added about a cup of veggie chiken stock to thin out the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
YUM YUM! I made this, but used a total of 4c of water, and instead of the soy milk, I used a can of light coconut milk, and garnished with coconut....wow I thought I died and went to heaven. This will make a regular appearance in my lunchbox!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I used a can of coconut juice (with shredded bits) and a little cow's milk instead of the soy milk and coconut. Also added fresh cilantro, and pureed about 1/3 of the soup after cooking. Very tasty! Will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I tried this recipe and thought it was fantastic! I cooked a double recipe and the whole thing disapeared! I substituted 2/3 of the soy milk to coconut milk as someone had suggested and it really added alot of flavour. Make sure to cook it long enough to soften it until it looks more like pulp then lentils. Some people described it as bland, but all it needs that the recipe doesn't call for is alot more salt! Try this and it will be much tastier! I will add this to my permanent repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This was just...weird. My boyfriend liked it, but I don't know how I feel about it. It was just okay...I changed the recipe quite a bit to even get it to taste okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States