Coconut Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Wow! This really is a "light and beautiful cake", just as it says! I made this cake for my sister's birthday, and she loved it - and I'm the queen bee at work today, seeing as how I brought left-overs in for all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This cake did not turn out well for me. The almond extract far overpowered the coconut taste I was looking forward to. Probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I thought your recipe was delicous.That was my first time I eva made a cake from scratch.everyone that I let taste it loved it.I'am a box cake maker but from know on I will stay with home made.Thank you boopbee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
The cake turned out fine but it didn't taste good. Didn't have the sweet taste you expect. I don't think I will be making it again. Hope to find a better recipe for Coconut Cake. The icing was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
this was such a delicious cake. It was so light and tasty!! everybody in my house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Great cake! Made it for a 50th anniversary party and the wife-a real coconut lover-said it was the best cake she had tasted. She shared it with another friend and she wants the recipe too. I did replace the almond extract with vanilla only because I didn't have any and it tasted great. Great looking too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Good~~~my 8yo loved this cake. He helped me decorate it. We used AR decorating suggestions and made a 'bunny cake'. We decorated with candy sprinkles instead of the coconut. Thanks for the Easter memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I tried to make this twice, and both times it fell apart on me. The almond took away from the rest of the flavors and I felt it was extremely crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I'm not a huge coconut fan; I made this for the cute factor! It turned out pretty cake-y, but my guests ate it up anyway. They all said a glass of milk was a must to go along with it. I gave it 4 stars because it is SO cute for the Easter holiday or any spring time occasion and it is creative yet simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Makaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maureen
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This cake was very good and making it into the bunny was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States