Coconut Joy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
These cookies are very good. Unfortunately, I had an enormous hard time to find the candy the recipe calls for. I had to replace it for Almond M&M candy. It did not disapoint. I like the fact that these cookies are not too sweet at all! I just wonder if the mix should be really sticky....next time I will use my cookie scoop. I happen to read about it just before preparing the last batch. They came out perfect but I must admit the ones I rolled on my hands with a little flour came out perfectly round unlike the ones I scooped ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made these for a recent function and they were a hit. I frosted them with a thin glaze and sprinkled toasted coconut on top so people would know there was coconut in them. I used the smallest cookie scoop and they were the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was great! Broke up normal almond joys for the almond joy pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I didn't have coconut extract and used dark brown usage because that is all I had. I used mini chips because i ran out of the regular chips. I used almond M&m's. loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayelle
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I've been wanting to make these for a long time. I made a special trip to the store last night for the coconut and Almond Joy Pieces and was horrified that my store didn't have the candy. I started to panic, but saw a large bag of coconut M&Ms and decided to try those instead. To make up for the almond that the M&Ms don't have, I added 1/4 tsp almond extract along with the coconut extract that the recipe calls for. Right when they came out of the oven (9 minutes was perfect), I pressed three additional M&Ms onto the tops of the cookies. These are AMAZING!!!! Not only are they delicious, but keep a nice shape (they don't spread), and present beautifully. Also, I like the amount this makes. Not overwhelming...I got two cookie sheets worth (24 cookies). These will be a regular around here now. PERFECT! Everyone loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very tasty cookie! I had some coconut left over from a cake I recently made though id give these a try So glad I did my house smelled amazing while these were baking! These came out crispy on the outside chewey in the middle baked up perfectly in 9 min. This recie is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These have to be one of the most fabulous cookies ever. The perfect combination of chewy and crunchy. The taste is pure summer in every bite! I followed the recipe exactly, my only advise is double, triple or quadruple this recipe as the single batch is simply not enough!!! I doubled and made 24 large size cookies. As always I make dough balls and place on a baking tray in the freezer, once frozen (About 20-30 minutes) I remove from the tray and store in zip lock bags. When required bake at 350 for approx 25 minutes. The perfect crackled cookie every time. NOTE ~ I did struggle to find the almond joy pieces in my local grocery stores but eventually found them for sale at Target. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly doubled. I was afraid that the coconut was be too much, but it was not at all. These are addicting. I made these for my Dad for his birthday. Now, I'm going to have to make them for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather C
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Spectacular cookies! If you love the combination of chocolate and coconut you must try these cookies. I followed the recipe exactly and mine were done at 8 minutes in my convection oven. I liked that these didn't spread much so I could load up the cookie sheets. I ended up with 30 cookies using my tablespoon cookie scoop. This really is a wonderful cookie and one I will make many times. Thank you for the recipe CookinBug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
As the first reviewer, I just have to say that these are AWESOME!!!!! Made exactly as written (except for using mini choco. chips b/c that's all I had) and would not change a thing. They smelled fantastic while baking and had great texture and flavor. As a lover of the chocolate/coconut combo, I knew these were gonna be good, but they are not just good, they are fantastic and downright addicting, lol! I did put some extra candies on top before baking and they cracked, so I may put them on after baking next time so they are prettier. Me and the little guy had a lot of fun making these, though I think he had more fun eating the candies, lol. These cookies are definitely going into my favorite cookies file. Thanks, Bug, for sharing this wonderfully yummy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Hedgehog Cookies

Melted chocolate and chopped pecans turn cookies into fun hedgehogs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States