Coconut Jays Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made these for a work cookie exchange and they were a hit. I used the recommended amount of butter and they were just fine. I think the amount is necessary to solidify in the refridgerator and hold the cookies together. I did not use the optional cherrys. I also did them with both unsweetened and semi-sweet chocolate and both tasted good. If you love mounds bars you'll love these because they taste just like them. I was asked for the recipe by several people. We all wondered if maybe adding an almond would result in an Almond Joy. I am pretty sure it would. I recommend doing the recipe as stated and you will have complete satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Omg. These were DELICIOUS! I listened to the other reviews and reduced the amount of butter by just a tiny bit. They tasted like mounds candy bars! They were really messy when trying to form them into balls, but other than that, they were a breeze to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I was looking for something similar to the chocolate coconut bars I tried from this site, but a little less time consuming. This was quick and almost a one bowl job...which was a plus. I didn't have any chocolate chips on hand but when I dug around, I found a package of individually wrapped Dove dark chocolate hearts. I melted these with a little shortening and they worked fine. I didn't use as much butter called for because I didn't want a buttery taste. The only problem I had was my chocolate got a little dry and crumbly after being refrigerated, but that's my fault. It certainly didn't stop us from eating them! Thanks June.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These are really good but in my opinion the recipe calls for way too much butter! When I was making the cookies, it was literally dripping out as I rolled them into balls. I squeezed out as much as I could and they were still great. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
A little buttery, but they were tasty! A great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Lots of work for this "so so" cookie. I thought mine were mushy, so I added more coconut. Like other reviewers said, too much butter is called for in this recipe. Overall, just not impressed with this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These were okay. Not entirely what I was expecting. There's FAR too much butter in the recipe. I probably had 3 or so tbs of melted butter at the bottom of the bowl after I pulled all the dough. My hands were just coated in butter afterwards. Can't imagine letting my kids help me with these unless I wanted them greasy. I ended up using 2 extra blocks of chocolate, 3 semisweet and 1 unsweetened. They're just ok. If I make them again I'll use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Absolutely unreal! So easy..great for the kids to get involved. It was so tasty..that we had to make another batch..because we couldn't stop eating the batter! Highly reccomend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHELLYBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
to make shaping these little gems easier, I used a mini-muffin tin. Other than that I made exactly as the recipe calls for and they are now a holiday favorite in my diet - the Gluten Revolution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Pohozoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We just tried to make these they just fell apart. They were way to dry added more butter, now we have all this sugar coconut mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States