Coconut Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
these came out fantastic!! I made the dough (no mixer, all hand stirring) and put in the fridge till the next night. I baked 1/2 on silver trays and 1/2 on pampered chef. They all were delicious. My husband preferred the ones on the silver baking trays -- a little less crunchy. WIll definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Awesome!! looking for a comparable coconut cookie served on cruise ship and these surpassed my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
They taste like a coconut sugar cookie. Will definitely make again but will adjust oven temperature to 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
3 1/2 stars really. My cookies were not light and airy or as melt in your mouthy as I was hoping. ;-) They were rather tough and chewy. I think this might be my fault.....after creaming together the butter and sugar with mixer, I then mixed in the egg, vanilla / coconut extract and then the flour / coconut. So rather than STIRING as recipe said to do at the egg / extract stage, I kept MIXING. I am no Alton Brown, but I think by mixing I changed the whole DNA of this cookie! Not sure. They are edible but not the texture I was hoping for. UPDATE! I baked more of these but this time cut a lot thinner and they came out crispy and to me they were way better this way - still probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Cassondra
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
A nice mild cookie, very light flavor. I baked them at 350 and they still came out a little too crunchy for my taste, next time will make them bigger as the larger ones were more chewy. Also, I did not have coconut extract so made my own: soaked 1T of coconut in 3t vanilla for a few hours and then strained out the soaked coconut and used the vanilla in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I love these cookies exactly as the recipe is written. This year i added a cup of chocolate chips, a cup of white chocolate chips, and a half cup of chopped walnuts and created the best crispy, tender Christmas cookie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These cookies are great. I've made them for several parties and they always go over well. I didn't have coconut extract and used almond extract instead and they still turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Excellent. Satisfied my coconut craving. I'm making another batch today for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I reduced the oven temp to 350 after my first batch darkened too much on the edges. These were perfect tenderness with the temp adjustment. I made my coconut finer by putting it through the blender. I didn't have coconut extract (darn) so I used almond extract instead. Thanks for the recipe, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made these exactly as the recipe states, the only thing I changed was rather then putting the dough in the fridge to chill, I sped things up by using the freezer. They turned out lovely. Nice and light and very tasty. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States