Coconut Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Baker beware! These cookies are addicting! I made the mistake and tried the dough... the only thing that got me to stop eating it was knowing how much raw egg I would be consuming! These cookies are second ONLY to dark chocolate covered macaroons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiddleNameGrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
these came out fantastic!! I made the dough (no mixer, all hand stirring) and put in the fridge till the next night. I baked 1/2 on silver trays and 1/2 on pampered chef. They all were delicious. My husband preferred the ones on the silver baking trays -- a little less crunchy. WIll definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Awesome!! looking for a comparable coconut cookie served on cruise ship and these surpassed my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
They taste like a coconut sugar cookie. Will definitely make again but will adjust oven temperature to 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
3 1/2 stars really. My cookies were not light and airy or as melt in your mouthy as I was hoping. ;-) They were rather tough and chewy. I think this might be my fault.....after creaming together the butter and sugar with mixer, I then mixed in the egg, vanilla / coconut extract and then the flour / coconut. So rather than STIRING as recipe said to do at the egg / extract stage, I kept MIXING. I am no Alton Brown, but I think by mixing I changed the whole DNA of this cookie! Not sure. They are edible but not the texture I was hoping for. UPDATE! I baked more of these but this time cut a lot thinner and they came out crispy and to me they were way better this way - still probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Cassondra
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
A nice mild cookie, very light flavor. I baked them at 350 and they still came out a little too crunchy for my taste, next time will make them bigger as the larger ones were more chewy. Also, I did not have coconut extract so made my own: soaked 1T of coconut in 3t vanilla for a few hours and then strained out the soaked coconut and used the vanilla in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I love these cookies exactly as the recipe is written. This year i added a cup of chocolate chips, a cup of white chocolate chips, and a half cup of chopped walnuts and created the best crispy, tender Christmas cookie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These cookies are great. I've made them for several parties and they always go over well. I didn't have coconut extract and used almond extract instead and they still turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Excellent. Satisfied my coconut craving. I'm making another batch today for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I reduced the oven temp to 350 after my first batch darkened too much on the edges. These were perfect tenderness with the temp adjustment. I made my coconut finer by putting it through the blender. I didn't have coconut extract (darn) so I used almond extract instead. Thanks for the recipe, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States