Coconut Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
was looking for something more crispy but these still turned out pretty well... i made 4 logs and froze them, and it was such a breeze to make them when i'm craving for a little treat... just slice and bake for 5 min in my toaster oven. it's great because i can bake as much or as little as i want, and they're usually gone before the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
really tasty. slightly addictive! i too put the coconut in my food processor to make it a bit more fine. easy and delicious, two things that i love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JunkyVanRobot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
These cookies were pretty bland to me. I can't pinpoint an exact problem. I love coconut, but this just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Everyone loved these! So easy to make and the dough was great to work with. I did omit the vanilla and replaced with more coconut extract. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very surprising. I usually don't like coconut but my children had been after me to let them see what a whole coconut was all about. After opening, peeling and shredding, I had to do something with this coconut. This was just the thing. I didn't have any coconut extract, so I just omitted it. They were great without. I did have to cook quite a bit longer than recommended, but we often have to for high altitude cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Wow. I LOVE this dough. It's easy to work with, it shapes nicely, and you can vary it to no end. I never had a problem with it not being coconutty enough, but I do toast my coconut first. Recent variation: subbed 1/4 c cocoa powder for 1/4 c of the flour and omitted coconut (and coconut extract). Added crushed chocolate covered espresso beans. My husband ate the whole batch in two days. Thanks, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
these were really tasty. they might taste pretty good with crushed almonds or macadamia nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Good, next time I might double the coconut extract as I did not think these were all that coconutty. My husband said they were perfect and I am not tasting things right because I'm pregnant so maybe he's right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I loved these cookies. I had to make something with a coconut theme and they did great. To add a little flavor to the mixture I added crushed macadamia nuts and when they were out of the oven I sprinkled more coconut on top. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made these with my 4 year old son yesterday and they turned out fantastic! I planned to save them for Christmas, but my son ate one half, and my husband ate the rother half - I only tasted one cookie... We did make an alteration, though, I used brown sugar (half brown, half white). We also coated the cookies in dark chocolate and sprinkled some coconut on top - my son loved doing that! I'll be making another batch when son's in kindergarten and husband at work, so that I can hide the cookies and save them for Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States