Coconut Ice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very very sweet. I'm a huge sweet eater and I couldn't even handle these. Very attractive, but a combo of just sugar and coconut is just too sweet. Though they did look good on a cookie/fudge platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I agree it's much tooooo sweet...... a waste of Ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I agree, this receipe was way way too sweet, even for me. It was a waste of ingredients that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Wonderful! This is exactly how coconut ice is supposed to taste and how I remember it from my childhood. (I suspect some of the other reviewers might have used sweetened coconut instead of plain flaked coconut, that would definitely make this too sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I didn't have any nonsweetened coconut, and I read somewhere that in that case you should decrease sugar to 1/2 cup. Or maybe by 1/2 cup. I don't know. In any case, I used 2/3 c each water and sugar, the vanilla, and I cooked the coconut in syrup until the whole of it was at soft ball. I also beat it a little much - be careful about that; stop while it's still a little drippy, or it will be crumbly later. The result? It was delicious, but it made about 20 square inches. Hmmm. I think I'll try and get my hands on some non-sweetened coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
It tasted like cocunut flavored sugar cubes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
It tastes EXACTLY as I remember as a kid too!... just sugar and coconut.. what else does a kid need?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
My father is lactose intolerant and loves fudge. We used to get coconut ice from a fudge guy at the fair each year when I was younger but he hasn't been there the last faw years. Dad loves this stuff but it is very sweet!! Better if you blend the coconut down so it's more fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
thanks for the recipe - i decreased the amount of sugar - though very sweet. Wasn't as chewy as i expected. I added strawberry flavouring instead of the colouring, which worked well with the coconut. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Lovely! A little watery I had to leave overnight in the fridge before it set and them keep in the fridge so it didn't melt again. I think maybe I needed to boil for longer so more water evapourated? Went down well with everyone though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States