Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
creamy, delicious and so very easy! my whole family loved it! i think it might be good with a little cinnamon or crushed pineapple thrown in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshaMarshaMarsha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was really rich, almost too rich. It never did freeze in the ice cream maker. After 2 hours we put it in the freezer, and the next morning we had breakfast ice cream. Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I left the flaked coconut out and oh my....it was really, really good! Word got out that we had homemade ice cream and I had several boys in my kitchen just minutes ago. I don't think much will be left! If you are going to use the coconut, don't mix it in, just sprinkle it on top of each serving. Drizzle a little chocolate sauce over the top for a very indulgent dessert. Great tips by the other reviewers concerning cream of coconut versus coconut milk. Make sure you've got the cream of coconut for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
absolutely love it....topped it with toasted coconut and chocolate syrup, couldn't be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Schoen Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I didn't have the extra 1/2 cup of heavy Cream (I only had 1 cup). I didn't know what to substitute it with, so I used 1/4 cup milk and a 1/4 cup sweetened condensed milk (the very thick stuff). While I planned to stick to the recipe exact, since I had to make these alterations, I then added a dash of salt and a capful of vanilla extract. I tasted the mix and it tasted delicious! Then came the fun part! I made the ice cream......So delicious and creamy!!! Wow, I cannot believe it's this easy to make homemade ice cream. Next time, I will try the recipe as is. But this recipe is great as well! TY. Update: I made this again, following the recipe exact and added coconut. This was a perfect recipe!! so creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was my first time making homemade ice cream and I chose this recipe because it looked so simple. I found the cream of coconut at the liquor store next to the other mixers. (It's the same stuff used in the "Coconut Poke Cake" recipe on this site). I did add the flaked coconut, but found it to be too chewy. I would recommend either grinding the coconut into smaller bits or just omitting it altogether. I also found this to be a very soft ice cream. Otherwise, this was a great recipe! I served it with my grandma's hot fudge sauce (recipe can be found in my recipe box) and toasted coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was delicious! And so easy. I think next time I'll try chopping the coconut a bit and possibly toasting some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Easy to make and very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this with the called ingredients, but I did try to use the blender to break up the coconut before I put it in the ice cream maker. This didn't work for me so the ice cream had the flakes of coconut throughout. I think this ice cream had a great flavor, but I will try Elzira's advice next time about using coconut extract and sweetend condensed milk only because I would prefer the smooth texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I made it this recipe this morning for dessert tonight after the Curried Coconut Chicken, it is soooo good! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States