Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Delicious and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was just OK for me - not very sweet. Also, there was about a cup too much liquid for my particular (Cuisinart) ice cream maker so it overflowed which was annoying. Not sure if i'd make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
My husband loves coconut so I made this for him. He ate the entire thing by himself. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texas City, Texas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I used the Kitchen Aid iced-cream attachment and it came out perfectly. Smooth, creamy, and delicious. I did not have any coconut to put in but it did not matter. It was very very delicious. Use the Kitchen Aid attachment for 30 minutes until it starts creaming up to the top. Then I transferred it into a plastic container for an overnight freeze. VERY VERY nice... worth a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I have been craving ice cream lately, but I'm vegan, and the closest source of vegan ice cream to me is 135 miles away, and I can't buy vegan ice cream and get it home. SO... I made this recipe but subbed So Delicious vanilla coconut milk (the kind for drinking/cereal) for the cream and milk. I used the cream of coconut and the full amount of flaked coconut, which I left whole. This stuff is SOOOO good. I couldn't stop stealing bites out of the top of my Cuisinart as it froze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I substituted coconut milk for the regular milk called for in the recipe, It definitely amplified the coconut flavor, and it made it the most creamy ice cream I have ever eaten. It was pretty much decadent coconut infused whipped cream! Awesome over Thai sweet sticky rice. My husband prefers the regular milk version because he likes more crystals in his ice cream....but even with regular milk, this is pure-d creamy!!!! Since finding this recipe, my husband wanted a constant supply in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Royer Franks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I've made this several times and I love it. such a simple recipe and it scratches my coconut craving itch every time. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Schumann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was my first batch of ice cream with my new Cuisinart ICE-21. I actually made two batches following several of the suggestions made by other reviewers. On the first batch, I put the cream of coconut, milk and flaked coconut in the blender to chop the coconut into smaller pieces. On the second batch, I toasted the coconut in the oven before blending the ingredients. I combined the cream with the blended mixtures and let them both steep in the fridge most of the day. I added mini chocolate chips to the toasted coconut batch. I was amazed that these two batches had completely different flavors. The un-toasted batch was more of a pure sweet flavor and the toasted added an extra layer of flavor that was a bit more on the savory side. The toasted batch was by far the favorite. We drizzled a little chocolate syrup over the ice cream and sprinkled some toasted coconut on top that we had reserved. For others that are using this 1.5 quart machine, I only used 3 to 3 1/2 cups of the mixture and my machine was full. This was better than any store bought ice cream that I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was soooo good. My new favorite Ice Cream. Used fat free half and half in place of heavy cream. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love coconut ice cream and this is by far the BEST recipe i have used, for a lighter ice cream i use light cream instead of heavy and it's still good. I recommend this recipe to friends all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBurtch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States