Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My husband loved it! I mistakenly misread the recipe for the amount of coconut required--added more (14 oz). I placed everything in the processor as suggested by a few reviewers and substituted milk with half & half and whipping cream. Definitely coconut ice cream, better than I've had in the past but next time, less coconut for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Mmm, creamy coconutty goodness. Super easy to make, too! I did add toasted coconut, because I had some left over from another recipe, and it was delicious. I have one of those freeze-the-bowl kind of ice cream makers and I've had problems before with my ice cream maker not quite getting the ice cream firm enough. So this time I froze the coconut cream mixture for about 30 minutes (stirring a couple times) to get it good and chilled before putting it in the ice cream maker, and voila! Perfectly frozen ice cream after 12 minutes in the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Are you kidding me?! This is the easiest ice cream I have ever made - no raw eggs or cooked eggs in it. I was not sure how good the texture would be without them but it's the bomb-diggidy if you like coconut! By far the easiest ice cream recipe on the planet - thanks a bunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Rich, creamy explosion of coconut flavor! This is also one of the easiest ice creams I've made as it calls for so few ingredients and no extra steps like cooking the custard or mixing and chopping. This is a lovely, pure white ice cream, easily adaptable to endless toppings or additions if you choose, though it is perfect just as is. For this occasion I just drizzled some chocolate syrup on the plate and added a few fresh raspberries and chopped chocolate covered almonds. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but chopped the coconut finely in my food processor. I added the coconut to the cream mixture and then let it steep its flavor into the mixture while chilling in the fridge for several hours. This is one of those few recipes that exceed your expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
No better ice cream can be produced. Use the flaked coconut. This freezes up hard but creamy. If you like coconut, you will be astounded! (Oh, I added 1/2 teaspoon very good vanilla extract.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim of Alexandria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This ice cream is luscious. I used a product called COCO REAL from Kroger. I found it in the mixers for drinks section of my store. It was a little difficult to get out of the container but I added the milk to the squeeze bottle it came in and shook it hard to get the last little bit out. It was 21 oz. instead of the 14oz. the recipe calls for but the ice cream still came out wonderful. I did not add coconut since I am going to serve this tomorrow with my son's Birthday cake. I am making a cake called hummingbird cake with loads of nuts and pineapple in it. It should be delicious. I made the ice cream today since from the reviews I read it gets better over time. I will freeze it hard in my ice cream freezer container. I used a Cuisinart frozen yogurt-ice cream-sorbet maker and the ingredients JUST fit. I highly recommend this recipe and am grateful for all of the wonderful suggestions offered by other reviewers. Yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was the very first recipe bf wanted to try in our new ice cream maker but I didn't have cream of coconut. We went to the store last night and picked up a couple of cans. Voila! Coconut ice cream! :o) I also picked up sweetened flaked coconut bc I had the unsweetened only. I got a bit distracted while making this and put in the unsweetened coconut instead. Bf was a bit put out until he tasted it and told me that it didn't need sweetened coconut; it's sweet enough. I processed the coconut in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients but should have done that first, emptied out the food processor, and processed everything else bc it was still pretty big. However, all in all, bf was thrilled with this ice cream. I liked it too--nice and creamy and so simple. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made this at DH request. I toasted some pecans, coconut, and cinnamon. Added some and saved some to use for topping. Son and DH loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I just finished making this ice cream. My one son said it's not sweet enough. My other son said it tastes just like coconut milk. Well, that means I'll have to finish up the ice cream by myself. I've to admit, the ice cream does not taste anything like ice cream. I'm made vanilla ice cream from a recipe from Food Network a couple of times and they turned out pretty good. Will not make this ice cream again. I love coconut and was looking forward to making this but it didn't live up to expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I have been making my own ice cream for about 6 months now and this is the best recipe I have found. We LOVE it. It is better a few days later, seems to get sweeter and even more creamy. I followed the recipe exactly. I toasted Macadamia nuts and coconut and sprinkled on top for garnish. Try it you love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shantif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States