Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added dark chocolate-covered almonds and slightly less flaked coconut. Also, someone else said it but I'll say it again: if you are having trouble finding cream of coconut, try looking in the alcoholic drink mixers section - that's where it was in my supermarket! This was a bit less creamy than cooked ice creams I've made - but a LOT easier, too! I thought this was very very good, and it got lots of compliments at a party. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Delicious Recipe. Very Easy to make and it tastes just fantastic! It was not too sweet. I toasted the walnuts and the coconut shavings and it really tasted great. Next time, i'll try it just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
It was ok, but tasted too much like whipping cream and not icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very, very good. The family loved it. If only I could find Coco Lopez for cheap! One star knocked off because the coconut ice cream served at the Thai restaurant in my neighborhood still has the edge, if only slightly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My husband loved this recipe. I only changed one thing-added two small cans of cream of coconut, to make it sweeter. It was incredible. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very good, but it's not the best I've ever had. Therefore I gave it a 4 star rating. I toasted the coconut first, and would love to try chocolate in it next time. *Update* This time, I doubled the recipe, toasted the coconut, and added 2tsp of coconut extract. Also, I used whole milk. It turned out perfectly! Everyone gave it 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This recipe is so easy and delicious! Would highly recommend making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have been looking since 04 for coconut ice cream, and I have finaly found it.We had it in Mexico topped with a drizzle of kahlua. We added the pineapple also and this is just great. Everyone who has had it here has liked it. Alone or with a topping. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Latham, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This ice cream was so good! I was amazed at how easy it was too. I added the flaked coconut to the food processor as well and it was a good consistency. It wasn't "icy" at all. I added chocolate chips to it, and then ate most of it within two days. I will be making this all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was very tasty! I toasted the coconut and cooled it before adding the mixture. 1.5 cups of coconut was a little much for my Cuisinart ice cream maker to handle. I saved about 1/4 cup to sprinkle on the gelato later. I also used 2.5 cups of 2% milk. Next time I make this, I plan on using a little whole milk to get a thicker gelato out of the ice cream maker (although this froze to a nice, scoopable consistency right out of the freezer); and decreasing the amount of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States