Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This is a very luscious coconut ice cream. The only thing I will do different next time is put the flaked coconut in the blender/processor with the milk and cream of coconut. The flakes made the ice cream a bit chewy in texture. Otherwise, this recipe is very easy and extra creamy. For those reviewers that are saying theirs turned out icy or not sweet, there is a huge difference between cream of coconut and coconut milk. It is like the difference between evaporated milk and sweetened condensed milk. Two brands to look for in cream of coconut are "Coco Lopez" and "Coco Colada".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I've prepared this recipe two ways and both ways were excellent. The first time I didn't have any cream of coconut. *NOTE* Cream of Coconut IS NOT the same as coconut milk. Substituting coconut milk for coconut cream would be like substituting evaporated milk instead of sweetened condensed milk. That being said, since I didn't have coconut cream, I substituted with a (14oz) can of sweetened condensed milk instead and added 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of coconut extract. It turned out excellent! The second time I made it as directed. Both times were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Coconut cream can be found in the mixer aisle of most supermarkets. It's used commonly in pina coladas. It is thick, syrupy, sticky, and extremely sweet. The coconut cream you often find next to coconut milk in Asian groceries is not what you want to use. Check the ingredients list for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Rich, creamy explosion of coconut flavor! This is also one of the easiest ice creams I've made as it calls for so few ingredients and no extra steps like cooking the custard or mixing and chopping. This is a lovely, pure white ice cream, easily adaptable to endless toppings or additions if you choose, though it is perfect just as is. For this occasion I just drizzled some chocolate syrup on the plate and added a few fresh raspberries and chopped chocolate covered almonds. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but chopped the coconut finely in my food processor. I added the coconut to the cream mixture and then let it steep its flavor into the mixture while chilling in the fridge for several hours. This is one of those few recipes that exceed your expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Awesome ice cream. It's also good, as one reviewer noted, with crushed pineapple added at the end. Not to beat a dead horse, but if you use coconut cream or coconut milk instead of cream of coconut, you will surely be disappointed. I used Coco Lopez cream of coconut. I also omitted the optional flaked coconut for a smoother texture. This ice cream was awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I really like this ice cream. It's extremely simple and quick to make. There's no cooking a custard first, it's just mix and freeze. I, too, toasted the coconut first and I also added a pinch of salt. The biggest hint is to use the correct coconut cream, NOT milk. I used the Coco Lopez brand as suggested by ALBERTACF and it was right on! It is found in the mixers (alcohol) isle at your market. The kind you find in the Asian isle is coconut milk, at least at my market. Thanks, SueMB, for sharing this recipe and ALBERTACF for the clarification between the two (cream/milk)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey's Mom

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe is off the hook good! I served it to dinner guests with a wedge of grilled fresh pineapple, and it was a big hit. The great thing is it looks very fancy, but is very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I made this ice cream to have with grilled pineapple and it was fabulous. I used skim milk because that is what I had and can't believe how rich and creamy this ice cream is. I did add a tsp of vanilla extract and blended the flaked coconut in with the coconut cream/milk so as to make the pieces a little smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
i toasted the coconut and blended it up in the blender with the milk and cream of coconut to chop it up a bit. it turned out amazing! next time im going to add pineapple...mmmm...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was great!!! We just had coconut ice cream while on vacation and this was a perfect imitation...minus the tropical breezes, anyway:) I toasted the coconut and crushed it a little before I added it to everything else. I've had some problems with it freezing correctly-I think the biggest thing is to not the coconut til the end. The high fat content makes freezing a little harder. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States