Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I just made this tonight. It was absolutely delicious! It was creamy and smooth texture. Next time I want to add either pineapple at the end or swirl some dark chocolate sauce into it, yum! The flavor is full and super coconutty. I opted to leave out the shredded coconut as I don't like the chewy texture. I think the people that made it used either coconut milk or coconut cream instead of CREAM OF COCONUT. They are NOT the same thing. Cream of Coconut is found with the mixers in the wine/beer section of grocery stores, and is a pre-sweetened coconut mixture used as the base of pina coladas and the like. If you used coconut milk or coconut cream instead, there is no sugar in this and it will not only not be sweet, but it will have minimal flavor and will turn very icey with tons of crystals after sticking the container into the freezer to harden because of the excess water content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This recipe was really a hit with my family....I changed a few things. I added coconut extract (tiny bit) and about 3/4 cup of granulated sugar. Next time I plan on doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Taste was OK, but not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This coconut ice-cream is good if you are looking for an ice-cream that tastes like whipping cream, with a little coconut kick. I slightly toasted the coconut and blended it in a food processor with the other ingredients so the coconut was pretty fine. I prefer the flavor of the Best Vanilla Ice Cream on this site made with half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Simple, quick, delicious, and the leftovers kept very well in the freezer. I used one cup of (unsweetened) coconut milk in place of a portion of both the milk and the cream, just to increase the coconutty-ness of it. We served it with some ganache I had leftover from a previous dessert and it reminded me of a Mounds Bar! Yummmmm! My guests thought I was very "gourmet", but it really couldn't have been simpler! And even though I really didn't have enough ice for the ice cream maker and just had to make do with the small amount that I had (plus, I stopped it too soon), it turned out only slightly more "milkshake-y" than I had hoped. But it was still just as thick as many other homemade ice creams I've had, and definitely very rich and creamy. In short, good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wonderful. I omitted the coconut from the ice cream, but served it with toasted coconut, toasted almonds and warm fudge. Everyone loved it. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I truly love coconut ice cream. This is my favorite recipe. I rated it a 4 because the first I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and while that was good, the second time I made the following changes. Instead of dairy milk I used silk coconut milk. I do not like coconut in my ice cream so I toasted it and put it on top. Delightful!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Oh my heavens this ice cream is delightful! (Or *was*, considering it's gone already & I only just made it last night!) I tweaked the recipe a tad due to not having the exact ingredients on hand (& due to impatience), and I will make it the exact same way next time: 1 1/4 cup fat-free milk 1 1/4 cup regular whipping cream (not whipped) 14 fl oz cream of coconut (squeeze bottle found in drink mixers section) Blended *everything* together in blender (misread original recipe directions). Let mixture chill *maybe* 10-15 minutes in fridge, probably less. Let it churn in ice cream maker for about 30-40 minutes max. Ate some incredibly delicious but super soft ice cream, & threw rest in freezer over night. PERFECT. (Even the hottie at work thought so!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Delicious and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was just OK for me - not very sweet. Also, there was about a cup too much liquid for my particular (Cuisinart) ice cream maker so it overflowed which was annoying. Not sure if i'd make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States