Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I was not satisfied with the texture and flavour of this recipe the first time I made it. I had dissolved the creamed coconut in hot water (I didnt use the canned variety, but instead the boxed) and this made the ice cream more icy and flavourless. I adjusted the recipe to 1.5 cups milk; 1.5 cups half and half; 1 x 170 g box Grace Pure Creamed Coconut; .5 cup toasted coconut; dash of almond extract; dash of white vanilla extract. This made an improvement in the recipe. I still need to play with this recipe to give it more flavour and use the heavy cream to see if it will make the ice cream more creamy in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Awesome coconut ice cream! The best I have ever eaten. Will make this over and over again. Perfect with no changes to the recipe at all. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It was a bit sweeter than I like my ice creams. I think less cream of coconut or more heavy cream might make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I am planning to pair it with homemade piña colada ice cream topping! Remember that there is a difference between coconut cream and cream of coconut. Cream of coconut is very sweet and used in piña coladas. Coconut cream has NO sugar just like coconut milk. I recommend tasting it first if you are not sure which you have. If it isn't sweet, then you have the wrong kind for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Just tried this recipe and my family loved it! I did tweak it a little because I didn't have what the recipe called for exactly. I used 2 1/2 cups half and half, cream of coconut, and scant 1/4 cup sugar, 1 cup of sweetened coconut flakes. It was smooth and creamy and tasted great with store-bought pound cake. Will keep this one handy as it's easy to put together in the morning to be ready for after dinner desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
So simple, So versatile! My first run at this recipe was also the first time I used my new electric ice cream machine. I have had trouble with a few recipes since, that were more complicated, THIS one was a (tropical) breeze. I opted to leave the flake coconut out, and blended it afterwards with coconut rum and fresh pineapple juice. Mum has a new favourite "adult milk shake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Stevens
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Both my fiancée and I agree this was one of the best Iced Creams we have ever had. And it was so incredibly simple. Better than any store bought by far. The only thing I did different was that I toasted the sweetened coconut a little bit. It was awesome. This time I am going to add some fresh pineapple chunks. Yumm!!!!! Btw, maybe try some chocolate chips and almond slivers for a frozen/creamy Mounds candy bar. Ohhh, maybe I will try that instead of the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is bomb dignity It was so simple to make and I couldn't wait for the churning process to end to taste because I didn't add any sugar. It was sweet and creamy full of coconut flavor. I don't understand why some of the reviewers said not sweet and no coconut flavor so sorry to say they are absolutely wrong. I added the mounds coconut in the food processor like one of the reviewers noted and it did made it creamy and I stirred in heavy whipping cream. Now waiting for the final process to chill will give you an update when it finishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was easy and delicious! I did change it a bit to used whole almond milk instead of regular milk and unsweetened coconut. I found that the cream of coconut made it sweet enough and the unsweetened organic coconut flakes are not as long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Absolutely heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States