Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This turned out really well. I was hoping it would take like the cocont ice cream I had while honeymooning in Mexico; it was close. I mistakenly used light coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. I'm assuming cream of coconut has sugar in it. B/c I used coconut milk I had to add sugar. I added about a cup, could have used a bit more, but it is still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
excellent ice cream - I'm making it once a week right now cause hubby and I LOVE it. After it's been in the ice cream maker but before I harden the ice cream I add dollops of (cold) hot fudge and salted macadamias or toasted slivered almonds and gently swirl them in. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I wish I could give 4.5 stars becuase it was almost perfect. This was very very good. I didn't use the flaked coconut at all because I don't like the chewy texture of it in ice cream, but I did everything else the same. My grocery store was out of heavy cream so I had to use whipping cream. After frozen this was just ever so slightly icy. Next time I will skip the milk and use all heavy cream and I think it will be PERFECT. I used Goya brand Cream of coconut. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is an absolutly wonderful tasting ice cream. I've also made it with dark chocolate swirls and chopped almonds in it! tastes just like a almond joy candy bar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made it almost exactly as the recipe said; my only changes: I added the flaked coconut in the food processor to chop it up more finely, and I added just a little bit of coconut extract. The ice cream has a nice coconut flavor -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This is a perfect recipe for coconut ice cream. I have made it with and without coconut flakes, both are great. For dessert at a dinner party serve this in a pretty glass or bowl with toasted coconut sprinkled on top, and stick a bite sized Mounds or Almond Joy candy in the top. Also, pass around a creamer with rum so guests can add their own. Even my friends that don't care for coconut loved this ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Added 1 capfull coconut extract for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was the first recipe I made with my new ice cream maker. It was wonderful and made a generous amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
We made this as dessert for a Thai dinner. Like others suggested, we blended the shredded coconut and then added the heavy cream. It was so easy to make! We served the ice cream with almond toffee brittle, and it was wonderfully, refreshing, light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
the best... only thing i changed is i used 1/2 cup of whipping cream that I whipped .... 1 cup of half and half ... in place of straight heavy cream... then added some dark chocolate chips.... this is the ULTIMATE...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States