Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I used Coco Real brand cream of coconut in a white squeeze bottle, got it in the liquor section, with the mixers. It's thick and sweet...if it's not, you have the wrong coconut product. However, mine came in a 21 ounce bottle, so I had to guess how much to use. I added about 1 1/3 cups and the ice cream was just a little bit on the sweet side, that combined with the addition of Baker's sweetened angel flake coconut. (I put about 1 cup coconut in Ninja/food processor and buzzed it to about half size to lessen final chewiness). Next time I'll go with 1 cup cream of coconut and a teaspoon of coconut extract and see how it turns out. I also stirred 1/2 cup each of chopped pecans, walnuts and sliced almonds at the end, they gave a nice crunch and helped offset the sweetness, which was not overpowering, just a tad too sweet. It tasted like Baskin Robbins Nutty Coconut. A flavor explosion in your mouth, my husband said. For those who said it didn't turn out, you did used the wrong ingredients, please don't slam a good recipe by giving it one star because you changed ingredients. The recipe does not use sugar because the cream of coconut is sweet enough. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipe - no cooking and super easy! First, chill all the liquid ingredients - it helps the ice cream set up. Next, put the coconut flakes (I used 1 cup of unsweetened) in the blender and blend until the coconut is the texture of corn meal - do this so your ice cream isn't chewy. Add the liquid ingredients. Chilled cream of coconut will separate and solidify so don't be surprised. Also, I used 2 cups of heavy cream rather than just 1.5 cups. This made the ice cream smoother. Blend it all together, transfer to your ice cream maker, and voila! Perfect coconut ice cream. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
We love this! We added in some crushed drained pineapple! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Hamstar55
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Super easy recipe and tastes really good! I bought cream of coconut from Trader Joe's and added 3/4 cup sugar. I think it could actually get away with a little bit less sugar than that. The recipe was too much for my Cuisinart ice cream maker so next time I need to reduce it a little bit. I noticed with egg-less recipes the consistency isn't as thick/firm. I am able to scoop it but it melts in your mouth very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Making this even as I write! Wanted to use up some cream that was getting old, so I used all heavy cream with the creme of coco and the coconut. Spectacular! BTW...You'll know you have the right coconut product when you open it. If it isn't very syrupy and sweet...stop! The creme of coco is just sweetened condensed milk that happens to be made with coconut. If you have any doubts you can do what someone else did. Use an equal amount of regular sweetened condensed milk with some coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I wanted a coconut cream frozen yogurt so I replaced the milk with Silk Almond Vanilla and the cream with plain Greek yogurt. Neither my coconut nor my coconut cream were sweetened so I added I/2 cup powdered sugar. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
As an ice cream, it was not good. Not the rich, luscious coconut flavor I'm searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is exactly what I was looking for.... and I can't believe how easy this recipe is to make. I was originally looking for a coconut pineapple ice cream recipe, but thought I would first look for just a coconut ice cream recipe. When I saw a couple of the reviews that mentioned adding in crushed pineapple, I decided to try it too. I made the recipe exactly as written, but right before pouring into my Cuisinart ice cream machine, I added a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple (I bought the kind in juice, not syrup) . But first I used my wire mesh strainer to drain the pineapple juice off the pineapple, and I pressed the pineapple gently to make sure it wasn't too wet before I added it to the creamy coconut mixture. I didn't want the extra liquid to ruin the recipe results. I turned on the machine and poured in all but a cup of the mixture. The pineapple adds volume so I was afraid it may overflow if I poured all of it in. After about 20 minutes it was thickened nicely. I put it into a quart ice cream carton (I bought a bunch of these online - they are perfect for storing your ice cream - you know the white cardboard round ones with the lids). Into the freezer it went. Of course, there was a bit left over that my husband and I divided up and ate immediately - it was every bit as delicious as the coconut pineapple ice cream we had at a fancy ice creamery in Florida!! Absolutely amazing flavor - this one does not disappoint with weak flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I was not satisfied with the texture and flavour of this recipe the first time I made it. I had dissolved the creamed coconut in hot water (I didnt use the canned variety, but instead the boxed) and this made the ice cream more icy and flavourless. I adjusted the recipe to 1.5 cups milk; 1.5 cups half and half; 1 x 170 g box Grace Pure Creamed Coconut; .5 cup toasted coconut; dash of almond extract; dash of white vanilla extract. This made an improvement in the recipe. I still need to play with this recipe to give it more flavour and use the heavy cream to see if it will make the ice cream more creamy in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Awesome coconut ice cream! The best I have ever eaten. Will make this over and over again. Perfect with no changes to the recipe at all. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States