Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Just tried this recipe and my family loved it! I did tweak it a little because I didn't have what the recipe called for exactly. I used 2 1/2 cups half and half, cream of coconut, and scant 1/4 cup sugar, 1 cup of sweetened coconut flakes. It was smooth and creamy and tasted great with store-bought pound cake. Will keep this one handy as it's easy to put together in the morning to be ready for after dinner desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
So simple, So versatile! My first run at this recipe was also the first time I used my new electric ice cream machine. I have had trouble with a few recipes since, that were more complicated, THIS one was a (tropical) breeze. I opted to leave the flake coconut out, and blended it afterwards with coconut rum and fresh pineapple juice. Mum has a new favourite "adult milk shake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger931
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Both my fiancée and I agree this was one of the best Iced Creams we have ever had. And it was so incredibly simple. Better than any store bought by far. The only thing I did different was that I toasted the sweetened coconut a little bit. It was awesome. This time I am going to add some fresh pineapple chunks. Yumm!!!!! Btw, maybe try some chocolate chips and almond slivers for a frozen/creamy Mounds candy bar. Ohhh, maybe I will try that instead of the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is bomb dignity It was so simple to make and I couldn't wait for the churning process to end to taste because I didn't add any sugar. It was sweet and creamy full of coconut flavor. I don't understand why some of the reviewers said not sweet and no coconut flavor so sorry to say they are absolutely wrong. I added the mounds coconut in the food processor like one of the reviewers noted and it did made it creamy and I stirred in heavy whipping cream. Now waiting for the final process to chill will give you an update when it finishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was easy and delicious! I did change it a bit to used whole almond milk instead of regular milk and unsweetened coconut. I found that the cream of coconut made it sweet enough and the unsweetened organic coconut flakes are not as long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Absolutely heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is one of my favorite ice cream recipes. The flavor is perfect, the texture is the smoothest I've ever had, and it is so unique that it catches people by surprise! I top with crushed coconut and it is far better than a certain name-brand version of Pineapple Coconut ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
so simply delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is the perfect coconut ice cream recipe. We loved it! I added toasted, flaked coconut and an 8oz bar of bittersweet chocolate, chopped, during the last 2 minutes of freezing. Fantastic! Tammy V.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
BEST ICECREAM EVER!!!!I give it 10 stars, yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States