Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Really really yumm! This is a great simple recipe and took me 5 minutes to prepare. I toasted the shredded coconut on my stove top and cut it in half and it was STILL a lot for me, but otherwise great! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foreverme123

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Great ice cream! It is so simple yet rich. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Wow! Smooth, creamy, dreamy! Everything a homemade treat should be! Definitely not low fat or low calorie, but a small serving of this delectable treat goes a long way. I was able to find the cream of coconut in a lighter version at my local Wal-Mart in the mixers section. Didn't even know they made a lighter version! Noticed no difference in the flavor or consistency. This is my husbands all-time favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was very yummy! Maybe a bit too sweet...but then it wouldn't be dessert if it wasn't sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was my first adventure into homemade ice cream and I am impressed! Although I do not have an ice cream maker, I really wanted to try this recipe. I perused the internet and found a helpful article on making ice cream without a maker. Other than not using an ice cream maker, I followed the recipe precisely. The ice cream has a solid coconut flavor, yet, is not overpowering. The consistency of my ice cream was more thick than "regular" ice cream, perhaps this was due to hand mixing rather than using an ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe twice already. It is absolutely delicious! I cannot find cream of coconut in any of the local supermarkets in my area so I have use coconut milk instead. I also substituted the milk for half and half and added 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk. The only problem I found with this recipe is that the ice cream is not very soft so I need to leave it at room temperature for a while before serving it... But it is way worth the flavor! If anybody has been successful at making this ice cream creamy please let me know.... Thanks and enjoy this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made this and it was so GREEEAATTT. I think that the next time I try it I will toast the coconut or mix half toasted and half not. Just because some don't like the chewyness of the coconut, but as for me I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was too easy to be this good!! I did add the coconut, I toasted it lightly first. Very light and refreshing! I think I'll add a little crushed pineapple to the next batch I make! Yummy! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
The only thing I changed was to toast the coconut and add it 5 minutes before done. Delish! Tastes like a coconut cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This turned out really well. I was hoping it would take like the cocont ice cream I had while honeymooning in Mexico; it was close. I mistakenly used light coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. I'm assuming cream of coconut has sugar in it. B/c I used coconut milk I had to add sugar. I added about a cup, could have used a bit more, but it is still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States