Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this with the called ingredients, but I did try to use the blender to break up the coconut before I put it in the ice cream maker. This didn't work for me so the ice cream had the flakes of coconut throughout. I think this ice cream had a great flavor, but I will try Elzira's advice next time about using coconut extract and sweetend condensed milk only because I would prefer the smooth texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I made it this recipe this morning for dessert tonight after the Curried Coconut Chicken, it is soooo good! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
just ok; doesnt' set as well as I thought it should and the taste didnt' seem natural. ok recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was good, but the shredded coconut was a little over the top with the cream of coconut. And I LOVE coconut! I tried to find coconut extract, but wasn't successful. I think I'd use that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
AWESOME!!! So Creamy!! I will be making this All summer!! I only left out the flaked coconut just because I don't like chewing it in ice cream. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Tasty recipe! I added shredded coconut, as well as, chopped macadamia nuts and added a couple swirls of hot fudge at the end. It reminded me of my favorite Lambert's Ice Cream flavor that you can only get on the islands. The cream of coconut is easy to find in the mixers section (usually with soda, where you can get margarita mix, grenadine, etc) of your local supermarket. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was really a great and easy recipe. This ice cream was so creamy and stayed that way even when opened the next day. I though I would have to add an egg or two but i held off and stayed with the recipe. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and thought I would need to add sugar but the cocconut cream is so sweet it needed nothing more. I had an extra ounce of coconut cream so i added that. I also added the flaked coconut and I would maybe hold off a bit next time. I also think I will add less cream and more milk because 1) the cream gives you that funny film in your mouth and 2) i like my ice cream more like frozen yogurt texture. For a simple coconut ice cream recipe, this was really REALLY great. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Lots to like about this one--simple, easy & fast to put together, delish. Love ice cream recipes w/o the need to make an egg custard. I used UNsweetened coconut. The ice cream is sweet enough w/o adding more 'sugar.' Also, stays scoopable after days in freezer, not hard like a rock. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is so easy to make; no cooking required! I added some mini chocolate chips and now my boyfriend wants it for dessert every night! I'm debating whether to make it without the flaked coconut...it takes a little effort on the chewing end. The cream of coconut was a little hard to find; I finally found it in the "exotic foods" section of our local chain supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrington, Maine, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Perfect and so creamy! The cream of coconut will start to solidify when combined with the cold milk and heavy cream, so start with the cream of coconut and add the milk and cream slowly. I used the kitchenaid ice cream attachment and the recipe fit perfectly in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States