Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
absolutely love it....topped it with toasted coconut and chocolate syrup, couldn't be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Schoen Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I didn't have the extra 1/2 cup of heavy Cream (I only had 1 cup). I didn't know what to substitute it with, so I used 1/4 cup milk and a 1/4 cup sweetened condensed milk (the very thick stuff). While I planned to stick to the recipe exact, since I had to make these alterations, I then added a dash of salt and a capful of vanilla extract. I tasted the mix and it tasted delicious! Then came the fun part! I made the ice cream......So delicious and creamy!!! Wow, I cannot believe it's this easy to make homemade ice cream. Next time, I will try the recipe as is. But this recipe is great as well! TY. Update: I made this again, following the recipe exact and added coconut. This was a perfect recipe!! so creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was my first time making homemade ice cream and I chose this recipe because it looked so simple. I found the cream of coconut at the liquor store next to the other mixers. (It's the same stuff used in the "Coconut Poke Cake" recipe on this site). I did add the flaked coconut, but found it to be too chewy. I would recommend either grinding the coconut into smaller bits or just omitting it altogether. I also found this to be a very soft ice cream. Otherwise, this was a great recipe! I served it with my grandma's hot fudge sauce (recipe can be found in my recipe box) and toasted coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was delicious! And so easy. I think next time I'll try chopping the coconut a bit and possibly toasting some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Easy to make and very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this with the called ingredients, but I did try to use the blender to break up the coconut before I put it in the ice cream maker. This didn't work for me so the ice cream had the flakes of coconut throughout. I think this ice cream had a great flavor, but I will try Elzira's advice next time about using coconut extract and sweetend condensed milk only because I would prefer the smooth texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I made it this recipe this morning for dessert tonight after the Curried Coconut Chicken, it is soooo good! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
just ok; doesnt' set as well as I thought it should and the taste didnt' seem natural. ok recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was good, but the shredded coconut was a little over the top with the cream of coconut. And I LOVE coconut! I tried to find coconut extract, but wasn't successful. I think I'd use that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
AWESOME!!! So Creamy!! I will be making this All summer!! I only left out the flaked coconut just because I don't like chewing it in ice cream. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States