Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was my first batch of ice cream with my new Cuisinart ICE-21. I actually made two batches following several of the suggestions made by other reviewers. On the first batch, I put the cream of coconut, milk and flaked coconut in the blender to chop the coconut into smaller pieces. On the second batch, I toasted the coconut in the oven before blending the ingredients. I combined the cream with the blended mixtures and let them both steep in the fridge most of the day. I added mini chocolate chips to the toasted coconut batch. I was amazed that these two batches had completely different flavors. The un-toasted batch was more of a pure sweet flavor and the toasted added an extra layer of flavor that was a bit more on the savory side. The toasted batch was by far the favorite. We drizzled a little chocolate syrup over the ice cream and sprinkled some toasted coconut on top that we had reserved. For others that are using this 1.5 quart machine, I only used 3 to 3 1/2 cups of the mixture and my machine was full. This was better than any store bought ice cream that I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was soooo good. My new favorite Ice Cream. Used fat free half and half in place of heavy cream. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love coconut ice cream and this is by far the BEST recipe i have used, for a lighter ice cream i use light cream instead of heavy and it's still good. I recommend this recipe to friends all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBurtch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was delicious. I added pineaple chunks with a little bit of the juice (from the can), as it was churning. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My family begs for this stuff! I dislike coconut so they get it all. I add chocolate chunks and blend in the coconut flakes. They say it tastes like an ice cream Mounds bar. Hubby ranks it in his top five favorite things to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I was skeptical that something so simple and easy would be so good. I'm so glad I tried it because it is fabulous! It reminded me of coconut ice cream I had while in Mexico. We topped it with magic shell and slivered almonds but it doesn't need anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very yummy. Easy to make. I left out the coconut and just mixed everything else in a bowl and put it in my ice cream maker. While it was churning I toasted the coconut and we used it as a topping with some crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LesaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
We make it using coco Lopez and 1% milk. We find it tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is the bomb. And best of all, is to add 1 to 1 1/2cups of puree strawberries to it. I can't stop making it .I have it in my freezer all the time. Pineapple is good but, but strawberry cocoanut cream ice cream, is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This is probably one of the best coconut ice creams that I have tried so far. I tried the recipe without the coconut flakes as I enjoy a creamy, not crunchy ice cream. It is sweet enough with a delicious, subtle coconut flavor to it. It is incredibly creamy, yet very refreshing. I would love to use it to top an upside down pineapple cake or add cake pieces to it. My hubby and daughter attacked it right away. GREAT RECIPE, MUST TRY IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States