Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Simple and Great! I did not add the flaked coconut and for that reason I think it came out smooth and creamy with a mild - almost subtle, and refreshing coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Absolutely wonderful although I really think that toasting the coconut is must. I gets rid of the chewiness and really brings out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe is beyond delicious! The end result is an out of this world creaminess and great coconut taste. My suggestion is to chop the coconut prior to adding to the mixture. This way you don't end up with long strands of coconut. I've made this ice cream at least 10 times this summer. This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Excellent ice cream. I added the flaked coconut as well as slivered almonds. Yum! Oh and this just barely fit in my cuisinart ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athaller

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
SO, SO EASY!!! Delicious and creammmmy. I only used 1/2 the coconut, chopped in a mini processor to avoid stringiness. The second time, I added a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, well drained. Absolutely lovely ! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I made this yesterday, and when I tasted it a few hours ago, I was met, not with the taste of luscious, rich coconut ice cream like I was expecting, but with almost-flavorless and not-nearly-sweet-enough ice cream. There wasn't much coconut flavor (even after adding 1/2 teaspoon coconut extract) or much of any flavor, really (even after adding 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract). The taste wasn't bad, but definitely wasn't good, either. I know what you're thinking: "Oh, she used coconut milk and not cream of coconut like the recipe specifies," but you're wrong. I DID use cream of coconut, I even double-checked before using. Even after making it, I checked to see if I had accidentally used my coconut milk instead of my cream of coconut, and, nope, the coconut milk was still there. I'm not sure what went wrong. Was the cream of coconut rancid or something? Or was the brand of cream that I used just not good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made this two nights ago and my only complaint is that it didn't harden enough in the ice cream maker. Put the leftovers in the freezer and last night is was wonderful! Next time I may add a little more cream and milk cause the coconut was a bit strong for us, but that is more of a personal preference than anything. Thanks for the easy, great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was outstanding! A big hit with all of my guests! The can of cream of coconut I used was 15 ounces which made it too sweet, but the flavor was delicious, and now I know how to tweak it in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Excellent! I did not use the shredded coconut. It was fabulous creamy and smooth. I added Chocolate syrup in my serving dish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This ice cream is wonderful! I substituted a package of frozen coconut and put it into blender with the milk and cream of coconut. I serve it with toasted chopped pecans on top. It is so rich and creamy - it's our new favorite ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States