Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made this at DH request. I toasted some pecans, coconut, and cinnamon. Added some and saved some to use for topping. Son and DH loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I just finished making this ice cream. My one son said it's not sweet enough. My other son said it tastes just like coconut milk. Well, that means I'll have to finish up the ice cream by myself. I've to admit, the ice cream does not taste anything like ice cream. I'm made vanilla ice cream from a recipe from Food Network a couple of times and they turned out pretty good. Will not make this ice cream again. I love coconut and was looking forward to making this but it didn't live up to expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I have been making my own ice cream for about 6 months now and this is the best recipe I have found. We LOVE it. It is better a few days later, seems to get sweeter and even more creamy. I followed the recipe exactly. I toasted Macadamia nuts and coconut and sprinkled on top for garnish. Try it you love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shantif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Perfect! The texture, sweetness, everything about this recipe is perfect. And easy! I ran my flaked coconut through my food processor to get it a little finer. We topped this with toasted almonds and chopped dark chocolate tonight, but it's also perfect on it's own. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was the best coconut ice cream I have ever eaten. It was so easy to make and came out perfectly. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The coconut flavor of this ice cream is great! The only problem I had was there still being little "chunks" of the coconut cream in the ice cream after finished. I did use the wisk with my mixer to mix all the ingredients first, but there were still little pieces of the coconut cream. Next time I would really mix the coconut cream seperately first to make sure it was very smooth. Other than that it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Tried this as is and added mac nuts. Both are the best ice creams and im not a big fan of coconut. Here is the mac nuts recipe: 1 C. sweetened flaked coconut and 3/4 C of chopped mac nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
YUM! Super easy! Toasting the coconut is KEY...the flaked coconut adds to the sweetness, so the recipe is definitely sweet enough if you add the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This a great recipe. I served with brownies and it everyone loved it. I would've given it five stars but I've had better (and have made better from other recipes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Fantastic! I omitted the flakes (didnt care to have the distraction while enjoying creamy icecream). I was worried about sweetness level, so I added 1/2 cup of cane sugar. And it came out great. Still not sweet enough for hubby but he was still impressed. The texture is awesome. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States