Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This ice cream is luscious. I used a product called COCO REAL from Kroger. I found it in the mixers for drinks section of my store. It was a little difficult to get out of the container but I added the milk to the squeeze bottle it came in and shook it hard to get the last little bit out. It was 21 oz. instead of the 14oz. the recipe calls for but the ice cream still came out wonderful. I did not add coconut since I am going to serve this tomorrow with my son's Birthday cake. I am making a cake called hummingbird cake with loads of nuts and pineapple in it. It should be delicious. I made the ice cream today since from the reviews I read it gets better over time. I will freeze it hard in my ice cream freezer container. I used a Cuisinart frozen yogurt-ice cream-sorbet maker and the ingredients JUST fit. I highly recommend this recipe and am grateful for all of the wonderful suggestions offered by other reviewers. Yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was the very first recipe bf wanted to try in our new ice cream maker but I didn't have cream of coconut. We went to the store last night and picked up a couple of cans. Voila! Coconut ice cream! :o) I also picked up sweetened flaked coconut bc I had the unsweetened only. I got a bit distracted while making this and put in the unsweetened coconut instead. Bf was a bit put out until he tasted it and told me that it didn't need sweetened coconut; it's sweet enough. I processed the coconut in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients but should have done that first, emptied out the food processor, and processed everything else bc it was still pretty big. However, all in all, bf was thrilled with this ice cream. I liked it too--nice and creamy and so simple. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made this at DH request. I toasted some pecans, coconut, and cinnamon. Added some and saved some to use for topping. Son and DH loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I just finished making this ice cream. My one son said it's not sweet enough. My other son said it tastes just like coconut milk. Well, that means I'll have to finish up the ice cream by myself. I've to admit, the ice cream does not taste anything like ice cream. I'm made vanilla ice cream from a recipe from Food Network a couple of times and they turned out pretty good. Will not make this ice cream again. I love coconut and was looking forward to making this but it didn't live up to expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I have been making my own ice cream for about 6 months now and this is the best recipe I have found. We LOVE it. It is better a few days later, seems to get sweeter and even more creamy. I followed the recipe exactly. I toasted Macadamia nuts and coconut and sprinkled on top for garnish. Try it you love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shantif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Perfect! The texture, sweetness, everything about this recipe is perfect. And easy! I ran my flaked coconut through my food processor to get it a little finer. We topped this with toasted almonds and chopped dark chocolate tonight, but it's also perfect on it's own. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was the best coconut ice cream I have ever eaten. It was so easy to make and came out perfectly. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The coconut flavor of this ice cream is great! The only problem I had was there still being little "chunks" of the coconut cream in the ice cream after finished. I did use the wisk with my mixer to mix all the ingredients first, but there were still little pieces of the coconut cream. Next time I would really mix the coconut cream seperately first to make sure it was very smooth. Other than that it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Tried this as is and added mac nuts. Both are the best ice creams and im not a big fan of coconut. Here is the mac nuts recipe: 1 C. sweetened flaked coconut and 3/4 C of chopped mac nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
YUM! Super easy! Toasting the coconut is KEY...the flaked coconut adds to the sweetness, so the recipe is definitely sweet enough if you add the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States