Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have been looking since 04 for coconut ice cream, and I have finaly found it.We had it in Mexico topped with a drizzle of kahlua. We added the pineapple also and this is just great. Everyone who has had it here has liked it. Alone or with a topping. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Latham, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This ice cream was so good! I was amazed at how easy it was too. I added the flaked coconut to the food processor as well and it was a good consistency. It wasn't "icy" at all. I added chocolate chips to it, and then ate most of it within two days. I will be making this all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was very tasty! I toasted the coconut and cooled it before adding the mixture. 1.5 cups of coconut was a little much for my Cuisinart ice cream maker to handle. I saved about 1/4 cup to sprinkle on the gelato later. I also used 2.5 cups of 2% milk. Next time I make this, I plan on using a little whole milk to get a thicker gelato out of the ice cream maker (although this froze to a nice, scoopable consistency right out of the freezer); and decreasing the amount of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe is amazing! It was the best ice cream I've ever had. I added 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and it was fantastic! Everyone in my family loved it. Plus, it took about 5 minutes to make... So Easy & NO BAKE!!! Next time I will use a little less coconut flakes. I think one cup would be plenty especially once I added the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
OMG!! This is so good! It is creamy and great coconut flavor. My batch is still in my ice cream maker and is almost finished, but I just had to taste it. It is wonderful. I put all of the ingredients including the flaked coconut in my blender. It was so easy. I can't wait for the finished product. I'll update my review later to let you know how it tastes, but I don't think I'll have any complaints. Edited 07/14: This is exactly the flavor I wanted. I didn't find it overly sweet. It tastes exactly like the coconut ice cream that was sold at the ice cream shop I worked at in college. Thank you so much for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Really yummy ice cream. my kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My husband loved it! I mistakenly misread the recipe for the amount of coconut required--added more (14 oz). I placed everything in the processor as suggested by a few reviewers and substituted milk with half & half and whipping cream. Definitely coconut ice cream, better than I've had in the past but next time, less coconut for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Mmm, creamy coconutty goodness. Super easy to make, too! I did add toasted coconut, because I had some left over from another recipe, and it was delicious. I have one of those freeze-the-bowl kind of ice cream makers and I've had problems before with my ice cream maker not quite getting the ice cream firm enough. So this time I froze the coconut cream mixture for about 30 minutes (stirring a couple times) to get it good and chilled before putting it in the ice cream maker, and voila! Perfectly frozen ice cream after 12 minutes in the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Are you kidding me?! This is the easiest ice cream I have ever made - no raw eggs or cooked eggs in it. I was not sure how good the texture would be without them but it's the bomb-diggidy if you like coconut! By far the easiest ice cream recipe on the planet - thanks a bunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Rich, creamy explosion of coconut flavor! This is also one of the easiest ice creams I've made as it calls for so few ingredients and no extra steps like cooking the custard or mixing and chopping. This is a lovely, pure white ice cream, easily adaptable to endless toppings or additions if you choose, though it is perfect just as is. For this occasion I just drizzled some chocolate syrup on the plate and added a few fresh raspberries and chopped chocolate covered almonds. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but chopped the coconut finely in my food processor. I added the coconut to the cream mixture and then let it steep its flavor into the mixture while chilling in the fridge for several hours. This is one of those few recipes that exceed your expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States