Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Made the recipe exactly as posted. Ground the coconut too. It was really bland. Quite surprised since I was expecting to like it. I used Coco Lopez. I'll pass it off as vanilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
didnt have cream of coconut so used coconut milk instead. used .5 cup sugar + 1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
For those who can't find sweetened coconut cream, use coffee mates coconut creme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Really good stuff. The first time I made this had a big mistake - used Trader Joe's Coconut Cream, which is thick and creamy but not sweet, so after tasting while mixing, did a rush fix by adding agave syrup which wasn't cold. That seemed to throw off my Kitchen Aid enough that it didn't set up well until after @2-3 hours of freezer time. I also added store-bought toasted coconut flakes about 15 minutes into the stirring process. The ice cream was great tasting (We liked the toasted coconut in the texture) despite the near miss of using Coconut Cream rather than Cream of Coconut, such as Coco Lopez. Have followed directions with the right stuff since then and it is a fun flavor change from vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Read the reviews so made a few modifications. Added touch vanilla extract, pinch salt and ground up coconut in food processor. All these suggestions are right on target. I also used a stick blender to incorporate ingredients as well as whip in some air to the mix. I used Coco Lopez and thought it was a bit too sweet. Good but sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Shelby
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This is our all time favorite ice cream that we've made for several years. We've made it with different add-ins and our favorite has become the one we where we use frozen coconut and 1/2 cup chopped macadamia nuts added to the mix after blending the liquids. We get rave reviews anytime this one is served!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Although I omitted the flaked coconut, this ice cream turned out amazing. For convenience while having a cookout, I prepared the ingredients about three hours early. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to combine, poured into my ice cream maker bowl and refrigerated until we were almost ready for dessert. 30 minutes later, we had homemade coconut ice cream. I served with homemade blueberry pie and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I used coconut milk instead of cow milk and half and half instead of heavy cream. Watching calories. Worked out great! I, too, recommend tossing the shredded coconut into the food processor for a smoother ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This was the first ice cream I made in the new kitchenaid attachment and we enjoyed it. We didn't add coconut into the batter but I liked it with a drizzle of chocolate syrup and plenty of toasted coconut on top. With mine the batter needs to chill (in the freezer for a half hour to an hour) before you put it in the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Anyone who is complaining about it, probably didn't follow the directions and used coconut milk or water instead of cream. Use coconut cream! And definitely put in the flaked coconut (found in any supermarket next to the chocolate chips!). I was truly surprised at how creamy this ice cream came out without cooking it like a custard. I was also surprised at how sweet and delicious it came out without adding any sugar. Plus, it is so easy. I'm going to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States