Coconut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Making this even as I write! Wanted to use up some cream that was getting old, so I used all heavy cream with the creme of coco and the coconut. Spectacular! BTW...You'll know you have the right coconut product when you open it. If it isn't very syrupy and sweet...stop! The creme of coco is just sweetened condensed milk that happens to be made with coconut. If you have any doubts you can do what someone else did. Use an equal amount of regular sweetened condensed milk with some coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I wanted a coconut cream frozen yogurt so I replaced the milk with Silk Almond Vanilla and the cream with plain Greek yogurt. Neither my coconut nor my coconut cream were sweetened so I added I/2 cup powdered sugar. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Sorry, but I thought this was awful. Maybe I'll try it as a topping over pineapple so it won't go to waste. As an ice cream, it was not good. I found it to have little flavor, dry, and not at all the rich, luscious coconut flavor I'm searching for. Still searching for a good coconut ice cream recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is exactly what I was looking for.... and I can't believe how easy this recipe is to make. I was originally looking for a coconut pineapple ice cream recipe, but thought I would first look for just a coconut ice cream recipe. When I saw a couple of the reviews that mentioned adding in crushed pineapple, I decided to try it too. I made the recipe exactly as written, but right before pouring into my Cuisinart ice cream machine, I added a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple (I bought the kind in juice, not syrup) . But first I used my wire mesh strainer to drain the pineapple juice off the pineapple, and I pressed the pineapple gently to make sure it wasn't too wet before I added it to the creamy coconut mixture. I didn't want the extra liquid to ruin the recipe results. I turned on the machine and poured in all but a cup of the mixture. The pineapple adds volume so I was afraid it may overflow if I poured all of it in. After about 20 minutes it was thickened nicely. I put it into a quart ice cream carton (I bought a bunch of these online - they are perfect for storing your ice cream - you know the white cardboard round ones with the lids). Into the freezer it went. Of course, there was a bit left over that my husband and I divided up and ate immediately - it was every bit as delicious as the coconut pineapple ice cream we had at a fancy ice creamery in Florida!! Absolutely amazing flavor - this one does not disappoint with weak flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I was not satisfied with the texture and flavour of this recipe the first time I made it. I had dissolved the creamed coconut in hot water (I didnt use the canned variety, but instead the boxed) and this made the ice cream more icy and flavourless. I adjusted the recipe to 1.5 cups milk; 1.5 cups half and half; 1 x 170 g box Grace Pure Creamed Coconut; .5 cup toasted coconut; dash of almond extract; dash of white vanilla extract. This made an improvement in the recipe. I still need to play with this recipe to give it more flavour and use the heavy cream to see if it will make the ice cream more creamy in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Awesome coconut ice cream! The best I have ever eaten. Will make this over and over again. Perfect with no changes to the recipe at all. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It was a bit sweeter than I like my ice creams. I think less cream of coconut or more heavy cream might make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I am planning to pair it with homemade piña colada ice cream topping! Remember that there is a difference between coconut cream and cream of coconut. Cream of coconut is very sweet and used in piña coladas. Coconut cream has NO sugar just like coconut milk. I recommend tasting it first if you are not sure which you have. If it isn't sweet, then you have the wrong kind for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Just tried this recipe and my family loved it! I did tweak it a little because I didn't have what the recipe called for exactly. I used 2 1/2 cups half and half, cream of coconut, and scant 1/4 cup sugar, 1 cup of sweetened coconut flakes. It was smooth and creamy and tasted great with store-bought pound cake. Will keep this one handy as it's easy to put together in the morning to be ready for after dinner desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
So simple, So versatile! My first run at this recipe was also the first time I used my new electric ice cream machine. I have had trouble with a few recipes since, that were more complicated, THIS one was a (tropical) breeze. I opted to leave the flake coconut out, and blended it afterwards with coconut rum and fresh pineapple juice. Mum has a new favourite "adult milk shake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Stevens
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States