Coconut Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
What a pain the butt to make! But well worth it, I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I could have just opened a jar of cream of coconut and poured that into my glass. WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
We love this recipe. We use up the leftover rice to make a creamy rice pouding-type concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Absolutely the best horchatta I have ever tasted! I agree with other reviewers that it was difficult to strain the mixture, but well worth the time. I served this at a family gathering and everyone loved it including the children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
The BEST horchata I have ever had, though I did add a hint of cinnamon! It was a hit within my household! I will most certainly make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wow.... this is amazing!!! This is the perfect drink for a nice sunny day, very refreshing. while making this, i found it was easier to strain out the almond, rice, and coconut mixure if i poured it in small amounts instead of all at once. then i took a piece of aluminum foil and pressed down on it to get all of the liquid out. i'm going to recommend this recipe to all of my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrkyZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Kind of a pain to sieve but well worth the work! We added a bit of cinnamon too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I used a 15 oz. can of Creme of Coconut, which made it sweet enough to not add the sweetened condensed milk. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon before straining the mixture and finished it off with 1/2 cup of half & half to make it a bit creamier. Next time I would run the final product through a blender to incorporate the creme of coconut better. Delicious! It got rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was so good! Ive made horchata before using another recipe and it was horrible. This recipe was delicious. The almonds and the coconut add so much, and using the sweetened condesed milk made it sweet but not sugary. This is my go to recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amderrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buellton, California, USA
Living In: Los Olivos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Patience!!! Takes a while to make this but OHH is it worth it. For those having trouble straining it try placing a double layer of cheese cloth over a bowl and secure with a large rubber band. Pour puree over cheese cloth and allow to drain. Repeat process using a sieve to get the smaller particles out. It's an extra step but much easier than trying to force it through a sieve the first time and gives you a much smoother puree to finish with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States