Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This pie is wonderful!! Next time I will try using less chocolate though, I think it overpowered the delicate haupia flavor of the white layer. My other suggestion would be to double this recipe and make 2 pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAHENR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAMMERSANN
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
People need to make this!! It was so good, the layers are beautiful when cut, and it was surprisingly light! Next time I may use a little bit less chocolate because I love the cocunut so much! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Delicious. If you like coconut, you must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This recipe turned out better than I expected. It was really easy to put together. I put the white layer down first, then the chocolate, followed by the whipped topping. I toasted some coconut and sprinkled that on top, and I used Splenda instead of sugar. The pie turned out so pretty, and my guests were pleasantly surprised that this pie was not too sweet. Thanks for a unique recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
We all loved this pie! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautiful. Very easy to make and it slices beautifully. I bought the pie crust ready made and this recipe filled two of the tenderflake deep dish pie crusts perfectly (hint - they are not very deep). I am making this again today and the only thing I will do differently is add a tsp of coconut extract to the white layer as I found the flavour very mild, also I will put white layer in the bottom then chocolate then whipped cream so it looks more layered. I really loved this pie because it was more of a coconut cream and had none of the gritty taste from chunks of coconut which my kids don't like in other coconut pies. Great recipe - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
this recipe is AWESOME! it tastes just like teds bakery chocolate haupia pie in hawaii! thanks traci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a hit! When I first tasted the white coconut milk mixture, I thought it would be too light; however, the rich chocolate part of the filling adds great depth. I used a store-bought oreo cookie crust and took the suggestion to layer the coconut, then chocolate, then whipped crea for the layered look. I also mixed in shredded coconut because I like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was absolutely delicious! Very rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaden Ravenscraft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Ponder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I fell off my diet for this and it was worth it! Yes, maybe the haupia was a bit in the background, but taken all together the flavors were marvelous. So satisfying. Please may I have some more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This pie is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States