Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
this is a classic hawaiian dessert and a great recipe. i am from hawaii and have had countless chocolate haupia pies, the most famous are from ted's bakery, but thought this tasted even better. my husband doesn't like whipped cream, so i actually made it without that and it was still very good. the only thing was after being in the fridge for a few days, the coconut top started to brown on the edges, but i cut it off and it tasted as good as ever. do be careful how much chocolate you use, i didn't think the recipe called for enough so i added 1/4c more and the chocolate flavor was very strong. this pie should have a very light and creamy flavor. i also used a premade graham cracker crust and that turned out very well, it didn't compete with the pie's flavors, but really enhanced it. i noticed others complained about the gelatinous texture of the coconut pudding - FYI, haupia is SUPPOSED to look like that, so have no fear. haupia is a coconut dessert that is often called pudding but thick enough to cut into squares, almost like jello. i know the recipe says to refrigerate for an hour but i would chill in the fridge for at least 4. i say this because when i sampled a piece of pie after one hour, i noticed the texture of the haupia was slightly lumpy and still a little warm. after a few hours in the fridge, the haupia and chocolate pudding was smooth in consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
We all loved this pie! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautiful. Very easy to make and it slices beautifully. I bought the pie crust ready made and this recipe filled two of the tenderflake deep dish pie crusts perfectly (hint - they are not very deep). I am making this again today and the only thing I will do differently is add a tsp of coconut extract to the white layer as I found the flavour very mild, also I will put white layer in the bottom then chocolate then whipped cream so it looks more layered. I really loved this pie because it was more of a coconut cream and had none of the gritty taste from chunks of coconut which my kids don't like in other coconut pies. Great recipe - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This must be the most delectable chocolate haupia pie on Earth. My family and I have enjoyed haupia pies from the famous Ted's Bakery in Hawaii before, but my family believes this is just as good, if not better, than Ted's!! (Which is hard to believe!) My only advice: Be sure to refrigerate it for a few extra hours before serving. It is best when the haupia is really firm. It sliced wonderfully and it has the smoothest, creamiest texture! I recommend making a sweet graham cracker crust for it, it seems to work beautifully. Also, I read some reviews where people added coconut extract, but I did not. The coconut milk gave it plenty of that delicious Hawaiian flavor I was looking for. This is a refreshing treat that is sure to impress everyone who loves the wonderful combination of coconut and chocolate. The coconut flavor is subtle but definitely present and the amount of chocolate the recipe calls for is perfect. And lastly, some of my family members aren't terribly fond of coconut but they still loved the pie. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This pie is amazing. I used an oreo crust, and didn't bother with making whipped cream. I just used Reddi Whip and added it right before eating. I also added a tsp of coconut extract and a small handfull of coconut flakes to the plain coconut pudding. It was pretty easy to make, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAMMERSANN
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
People need to make this!! It was so good, the layers are beautiful when cut, and it was surprisingly light! Next time I may use a little bit less chocolate because I love the cocunut so much! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Made a good pie but I would like more coconut flavour. Did not want to add shredded coconut because I felt it would ruin the velvety texture of the pie. I'm not a fan of extracts or artificial flavouring. I will definitely try again, next time I'll probably experiment with using twice the coconut milk and reducing it by half. Also I topped the pie with a mountain of meringue to save a butt load of the fat and calories the recipe contains with the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This recipe was a hit. I added about a cup of shredded coconut to the white layer and to the chocolate layer I added about 3/4C of slivered almonds (I'm a huge fan of Almond Joys!). It was excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
OMG This pie is amazing. If anyone really knows what this pie is supposed to taste like and knows Ted's Bakery, you have to try this recipe out. It's super easy & all my Hawaii friends loved it! I used a vegetable peeler and put Trader Joe's dark chocolate shavings with organic coconut flakes that I toasted myself (about 5 or more minutes in oven on 350 deg) & the chocolate & coconut mixed a bit which some said tasted like a candy topping. YOU GOTTA TRY THIS! Out of the world :D!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
this recipe is AWESOME! it tastes just like teds bakery chocolate haupia pie in hawaii! thanks traci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Delicious. If you like coconut, you must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States