Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TAMMERSANN
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
People need to make this!! It was so good, the layers are beautiful when cut, and it was surprisingly light! Next time I may use a little bit less chocolate because I love the cocunut so much! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Delicious. If you like coconut, you must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very easy to make. Loved the Haupia taste. Not to thick but just right. I think I put in a little too much chocolate, but it still was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Much lighter than I expected it to, tasty but not too much, and looks very nice with its two layers. What is more, very easy to make/bake. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This recipe was a hit. I added about a cup of shredded coconut to the white layer and to the chocolate layer I added about 3/4C of slivered almonds (I'm a huge fan of Almond Joys!). It was excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This recipe turned out better than I expected. It was really easy to put together. I put the white layer down first, then the chocolate, followed by the whipped topping. I toasted some coconut and sprinkled that on top, and I used Splenda instead of sugar. The pie turned out so pretty, and my guests were pleasantly surprised that this pie was not too sweet. Thanks for a unique recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
We all loved this pie! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautiful. Very easy to make and it slices beautifully. I bought the pie crust ready made and this recipe filled two of the tenderflake deep dish pie crusts perfectly (hint - they are not very deep). I am making this again today and the only thing I will do differently is add a tsp of coconut extract to the white layer as I found the flavour very mild, also I will put white layer in the bottom then chocolate then whipped cream so it looks more layered. I really loved this pie because it was more of a coconut cream and had none of the gritty taste from chunks of coconut which my kids don't like in other coconut pies. Great recipe - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
this recipe is AWESOME! it tastes just like teds bakery chocolate haupia pie in hawaii! thanks traci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a hit! When I first tasted the white coconut milk mixture, I thought it would be too light; however, the rich chocolate part of the filling adds great depth. I used a store-bought oreo cookie crust and took the suggestion to layer the coconut, then chocolate, then whipped crea for the layered look. I also mixed in shredded coconut because I like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This pie is wonderful!! Next time I will try using less chocolate though, I think it overpowered the delicate haupia flavor of the white layer. My other suggestion would be to double this recipe and make 2 pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAHENR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States