Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
The pie was good, but the flavor is very mild. It just kind of tastes like you're eating corn starchy pudding with sugar. I would like a more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinteacher
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
very chocolatey, not a strong coconut flaveor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Oh my goodness! This is amazing! Since I don't live near Ted's Bakery in HI anymore I thought I'd never get my chocolate haupia fix again. I was wrong. This is great! Thank you for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was delicious...I love the combo of chocolate and coconut. I didn't change a thing and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I could not detect a coconut flavor at all. I made the recipe exactly as stated, even topping it with toasted coconut, but the coconut flavor was just not there. I read through the reviews and didn't see this happening to anyone else. Maybe the brand of coconut milk I used???? The next time I make this, and there will be a next time, I will add some coconut extract to it and maybe that'll do the job. I am giving this recipe no less than 4 stars because it was super simple to prepare, came out beautifully and really was delicious, just not coconutty. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
just like home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by kristen7
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have made this twice now, it is a great recipe. I just returned from my honeymoon in Oahu and really enjoyed the haupia chocolate pie at Ted's Bakery and this tasted very similar. Haupia is a light coconut and the firmness of the pie is what the recipe aims at and succeeds. If you're looking for a recipe that is heavily laced with coconut or of a pudding consistency (like most cream pies), this recipe is not it. BUT if you're willing to try something different and authentic to Hawaii, try this recipe. If you use a regular graham cracker crust (I used Keebler's ready made), then the recipe in this filling will yield two pies, so either cut the recipe in half or buy two pie crusts. I buy a pint of whipping cream, so used just 2 cups for the topping, and it turned out great. Make sure to reduce the sugar proportionally. I reduced the sugar and the chocolate chips for the filling since I like a lighter taste. don't skimp on the coconut cream - the international section of your grocery store should have it, buy the more expensive one that actually says coconut instead of "coconut extract in water." Since i wanted a thicker coconut layer, i mixed less pudding into the chocolate chips. Next time, i will trying using milk chocolate chips as suggested by one reviewer. Great recipe, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I have made this recipe twice now and like it much better with milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. Also, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup. This is a very good pie and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLASTRA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I've made this quite a few times now, following the recipe exactly, and it's always devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NCwriter
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
My family was expecting German chocolate cake, but I wanted to rebel and do something different. When I took the lid off the cake taker they said, "Oh...pie." But after they took the first bite they said, "WOW!" This pie is fantastic. I made only two tiny changes--I added some coconut flavoring, like others suggested, and I toasted some coconut to add to the top pudding layer, and I sprinkled some on top of the whipped cream with chocolate shavings. Fantstic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States