Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Although this recipe tasted fabulous, it was rather unappetizing to look at. The pie was, um, oozey, and my family said the coconut layer looked like "snot" and "jellyfish". Looking back I wonder if I grabbed cream of coconut instead of coconut milk? I'm sure it was coconut milk, but who knows... will definitely try this again and will make sure to use coconut MILK and serve ice cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Not enough coconut flavor for my taste - though still very delicious! I thought the chocolate overtook the coconut and that flavor disappeared. Adding shredded coconut inside the pudding @ the end or even the optional topping (which I didn't have on-hand) would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This pie is delicious, easy to make, not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very good and very easy. The chocolate layer was just like chocolate pudding, where the coconut layer was a little bit more firm. A interesting texture in a pie, but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
this didn't thrill me, like I expected. like several other comments stated, I was looking for more of a coconut flavor than came through. the chocolate part was really good, but the coconut taste was almost non-existent. otherwise, quantities were right on, I had no issue with it setting.. and it did make for a pretty presentation. I put the white layer down first, layered with chocolate, then whipped cream.. I liked the look better than the pics with the white on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We just got back from Maui where we tried haupia and chocolate pie for the first time at Da Kitchen. I've been craving it ever since! Lucky for me I came across this recipe. My pie turned out excellent! I followed the recipe exactly as it was written; I think it was even better than the one we had on vacation. I'll be making this for many summers to come. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chilynnus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon in Hawaii. While we were there we sampled the local favorite of chocolate Haupia pie. Friday was my husband's birthday and when I asked him what kind of cake he wanted he said "do you think you could make that pie we had in Hawaii?" This recipe was even better than the one we had there!!!! Honestly! I used a pre-made crust from the refridgerator section and followed the recipe to a "T". This is REAL chocolate Haupia pie and it is wonderful. Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This did not go over very well at a recent get together. The coconut portion of the pie was overpowered by the taste cornstarch, and it also did not set up well, despite being refrigerated overnight. The chocolate portion was just ok; perhaps milk chocolate chocolate chips would have given it a better flavor. The best part of this pie was the cream cheese pie crust I made for it.... Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made individual tartlette shells and piped in the chocolate layer. The plain coconut "pudding" was thin enough that I just spooned it in. I finished off by piping on the whipped cream and sprinkling with toasted coconut and chocolate shavings. Though I did not get a chance to sample this dessert, it was the first of three different sweets to disappear. Obviously my friends loved it, so I'm giving it 5 starts. Can't wait to make it again so I can try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I made a deep dish graham cracker crust to put the filling in. Other than that, and adding a tablespoon of coconut extract to the filling, I followed the recipe to the letter. Results? The pie is beautiful to look at, with the white haupia sitting atop the chocolate layer. Seeing that some reviewers said the haupia stayed runny, I refrigerated the pie overnight (before adding the whipped topping), so it was quite firm and sliced solidly. It presented very nicely on the serving plates. Unfortunately, "pretty to look at" does not necessarily equal a tasty treat. The haupia was the consistency of Jell-O, which some reviewers warned of, but which I did not think would be all that bad. Much to my dismay, I did not care at all for the rubbery texture, and I was not pleased with the fact that no real coconut flavor came through, despite using high-quality coconut milk and coconut extract. The chocolate layer was the dominant flavor, so if I ever make this again, which is highly doubtful, I will double the chocolate and mix all of the haupia with the chocolate, which mitigates the rubbery, gelatinous texture of the haupia. Thanks for something different to try, anyway, but I completely fail to see what all the fuss is about. This pie is mediocre, at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States