Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
We really enjoyed this dessert. My coconut layer didn't set after about 6 hours in the fridge, so if I were to make this again I would do as others suggested and leave it in the fridge overnight. I used a pre-made shortbread crust with this and served with special dark chocolate syrup and toasted coconut on top. Also as suggested by other's I added a little bit over 1/2 tsp of coconut extract to the coconut layer, even with this the coconut flavor was very subtle so I can see how it would be lost without it. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I've never made pies before, so I was kinda nervous about making this one. I'm glad to say that I will no longer purchase Haupia pies at a bakery. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing. Joney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjjquan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Sooo good! Great pie, easy to make. I used my frozen homemaid pie crust, so it went really fast. Being hawaiian and spending my summers and holidays on Oahu, I've indulged in many island treats and this pie sends me back in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Loved it! This was very easy to make. I did add shredded coconut to the white layer, which I think was a big improvement. I also garnished with toasted coconut. A word of warning to anyone else who might not realize this: follow the directions on the package for baking the pie crust. If you just bake it like the directions here say, it will puff up and be unusable. You have to prick it like crazy with a fork to keep that from happening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made this yesterday after making a coconut cream pie from this site and had a leftover baked pie crust and a can of light coconut milk. It good, but not as good as the coconut cream where I used a can of creme of coconut and coconut extract. The chocolate was overpowering using the semi-sweet chips. My husband is from Hawaii and although he seemed to remember this type of pie, he preferred the coconut cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
The closest you'll ever get to Ted's Bakery Famous Chocolate Haupia Pie without living in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was a different twist on simple chocolate pie. My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Shepherd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelicaB
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My tester palate was my friend who grew up in Hawaii and introduced us to the original Ted's pie in Oahu on our trip this past Thanksgiving. She said it was pretty close to Ted's. I used half Trader Joe's light coconut milk and then half regular fat coconut milk, and it still tasted fine (I was afraid if I went totally light, it might change the flavor too much). I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract to flavor the whipped topping. Chocolate shavings and then mini semi-sweet chocolate chips strewn over the top completed it. Next time, I will roll out the crust a little thinner (I used Trader Joe's frozen crusts) and will add 1/2 tsp coconut extract to the pudding mixture for more flavor. This is definitely a staple of my recipe box. It was so simple and looks gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This came out great and is a family favorite. I add shredded coconut and crushed macadamia nuts for additional flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
i made this in November for thanksgiving and it fell apart. it was like soup. i think the problem was that it didn't thicken enough. i made it again for Christmas eve. This time i could feel it thicken way more than before. instead of using a regular pie crust i used left-over sugar cookie dough. i was so proud of myself when i cut the pie on Christmas eve and to see perfect layers of white and brown. thanks for the recipe, i will make it for special occasions all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States